LibGuides: Government Information: Start Here: Why Government Information?

Why Government Information?

Government information can be useful due to its breadth, depth, and credibility.

Federal, state, and local governments research, produce, and disseminate information internally and externally on several subject areas related to their citizens. Much of this information must meet strict oversight criteria regarding accuracy, comes from experts, and relies on verifiable, cited information. They fund important research that individuals could not afford alone, and those results must then be shared.

This information then influences decision making, policy, regulations, the law--and even just our overall understanding of topics and issues. Our history and our citizens become embodied in government information through surveys, Congressional testimony, research projects, and archiving of materials. We can see how we have changed and areas we still need to address.

Government information thus provides both primary and secondary information, both current and historical information, both introductory and expert level information. It can enrich your research project but also deepen your knowledge on topics relevant to you and your role as an involved citizen.

Core U.S. Government Resources

The Core U.S. Government Resources have been determined by the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) as those vital to understanding the working of the U.S. Federal Government.

Assistance Listings Provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government Presents educational content for the public on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics.
Budget of the United States Government Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications A finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily, it contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the U.S. Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Congress.gov Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
Congressional Record The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. (Note: This is the daily edition. There is also a bound edition available at: https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/crecb.)
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation Also known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Economic Indicators Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
The Economic Report of the President to the Congress An annual report, issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
Explore Census Data (also known as data.census.gov) A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Older statistics can be located via the Census Bureau's website.
Federal Register The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders.
govinfo A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Produced by the U.S. Department of Labor, this source describes various occupations and provides information about the education required to work in each field, as well as expected salary, working conditions, and employment outlook.
Official Congressional Directory Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States Official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
Social Security Handbook Resource for the most common questions about Social Security.
United States Code The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles.
United States Government Manual The official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees.
United States Reports Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
United States Statutes at Large Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.

Need Help?

Contact us to schedule an appointment with a librarian for research assistance.