Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by
Highly anticipated and fully updated Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Third Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear of confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: NEW Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines NEW Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) NEW Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used NEW Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article Write a letter to the editor or write a book review Work with and manage contributors when writing a book Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more Doody 5 Star Review "This book is easy to read and is useful for novice and experienced authors. It is an excellent resource and should be on the bookshelf of any nurse interested in publishing." -Michalene A King, PhD, RN, CNE(Robert Morris University) (c)Doody's Review Service(TM)
Pain-Free Writing for Nurses by
This book will make you a more effective and prolific author of scholarship Pain-Free Writing for Nurses is an enjoyable but effective primer on writing and will improve your scholarly contributions to the nursing literature. The tips provided in this book will improve your writing, increase your output, and help you address the stress involved in creating meaningful, professional content. This concise, practical text provides: Strategies to deal with the anxiety and procrastination associated with writingRationales for writing in today's academic and professional nursing environmentBasic structures for scholarly writingHow to find a topicHow to develop and use a manuscript outline to save timeStrategies to increase readership of your workHow to deal with feedback, criticism, and critiqueHelpful examples of various scholarly documents, including: DNP and other scholarly projectsAbstractsData-based and non-data-based scholarly manuscriptsResearch proposalsAcademic assignments and job postingsJob application and recommendation letters, professional writing, and more The authors share personal stories and tips learned through years of professional and academic writing. Writing Tip The primary purpose of scholarly writing is to communicate new knowledge. If you want to write to mystify your reader, write a mystery novel. If you want to be creative in your writing, compose haiku. If you want to focus on scholarly writing, read this book☺
Professional Writing in Kinesiology and Sports Medicine by
Publication of a research article can be a defining moment in a researcher's career. However, the steps involved in turning an initial research question into a published article can be a long and arduous journey. To aid in this process, Professional Writing in Kinesiology and Sports Medicine was developed to serve as a comprehensive writing guide for research professionals and students who are looking to improve their academic writing skills. Dr. Mark Knoblauch and his 15 contributors developed Professional Writing in Kinesiology and Sports Medicine to focus around the area of manuscript development and presentation, while also including chapters that outline the foundational concepts of professional writing, developing a research grant, and the journal selection process. Each chapter is written by content experts who bring a wealth of experience not only from their own academic writing but also from having spent countless hours helping students become better, more effective writers. Many textbooks have been written that focus on development of the research manuscript itself, but what sets Professional Writing in Kinesiology and Sports Medicine apart is that it includes so much more to aid writers in their process. What you can find inside: - Examination of ancillary aspects associated with academic research such as poster and oral presentations - How to choose the most effective journal - How to deal with the stress of writing - How to write an effective grant Professional Writing in Kinesiology and Sports Medicine covers those topics and more, with the intent of providing a thorough, practical writing guide that spans the breadth of the research manuscript development, writing, and presentation process. Throughout the textbook, sample writings and cases relevant to the fields of kinesiology and sports medicine are used to provide the reader relevant, applicable examples to help improve their own writing.
Professional Writing in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
This workbook provides instruction in, and opportunities to improve the accuracy and clarity of writing that students and professionals need for success in clinical practicum, evidence-based practice and career advancement.
Writing for Publication in Nursing by
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout. The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide: Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication.
Writing the Personal by
The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Through detailed exercises, exemplars, and a breakdown of the key elements and considerations of personal writing, Faulkner and Squillante provide a lively introduction and guide for writers to the art and craft of personal writing. Their conversational tone about audience, point of view, form, structure, ethics, research, and finding and making time for writing practice is a not-to-miss primer and reference. This book is appropriate for classes focused on poetry, creative nonfiction, ethnography, qualitative research, memoir, narrative inquiThe Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Through detailed exercises, exemplars, and a breakdown of the key elements and considerations of personal writing, Faulkner and Squillante provide a lively introduction and guide for writers to the art and craft of personal writing. Their conversational tone about audience, point of view, form, structure, ethics, research, and finding and making time for writing practice is a not-to-miss primer and reference. Writing the Personal invites us all to find our stories and instructs us how to shape them for an audience and for ourselves.
Aim for the Heart: write, shoot, report and produce for tv and multimedia by
Al Tompkins reminds students about a disarmingly simple truth about broadcast journalism: people remember what they feel. If you aim for the heart with the copy you write and the sound and video you capture, you will never fail to grab your viewers and compel them to keep watching. Aim for the Heart is as close as you can get to having Tompkins′s training sessions at the ready.
Artist Scholar: Reflections on Writing and Research by
Artist Scholar: Reflections on Writing and Research is part history, introduction, and discussion for artists and designers entering, graduating, and employed by the contemporary art academy in the United States. The evolution of art education in the university continues to expand in the 21st century as the variables of craft, skill, technique, theory, history and criticism shift and expand as the perspective of arts-based research is introduced into this professionalized environment. Given this context: what can MFA students do to improve their understanding of writing and research without sacrificing their commitment to their studio art process? Through a series of essays, the text argues for better writing at the MFA level with the purpose of becoming better artists. By contextualizing art practice in the university and providing a foundation for future artist scholarship, it serves as an invitation to artist scholars to push their work further and develop the confidence to situate their art in the university context.
Literary Non-Fiction: a Writers' and Artists' Companion by
Literary Non-Fiction: A Writers' & Artists' Companion is an essential guide to writing in a wide range of genres, from travel writing to feminist polemic and writing on nature, history, death, friendship and sexuality.Part 1 explores the full range of genres and asks the question: what is literary non-fiction?Part 2 includes tips by such bestselling literary non-fiction writers as: Lisa Appignanesi, Rosemary Bailey, Gillian Beer, Bidisha, Lizzie Collingham, William Dalrymple, Stevie Davies, Colin Grant, Rahila Gupta, Philip Hoare, Siri Hustvedt, Alice Kessler-Harris, Barry Lopez, Richard Mabey, Robert Macfarlane, Sara Maitland, Neil McKenna, Caroline Moorehead, Susie Orbach, Jennifer Potter, Susan Sellers, Dava Sobel, Diana Souhami, Dale Spender, Francis Spufford, Daniel Swift, Colin Thubron, Natasha Walter, Sara Wheeler and Simon Winchester.Part 3 offers practical advice - from planning and researching to writing a proposal and finding an agent or a publisher when your work is complete.
Telling Stories: The Craft of Narrative and the Writing Life by
A prolific and award-winning writer, Lee Martin has put pen to paper to offer his wisdom, honed during thirty years of teaching the oh-so-elusive art of writing. Telling Stories is intended for anyone interested in thinking more about the elements of storytelling in short stories, novels, and memoirs. Martin clearly delineates helpful and practical techniques for demystifying the writing process and provides tools for perfecting the art of the scene, characterization, detail, point of view, language, and revision--in short, the art of writing. His discussion of the craft in his own life draws from experiences, memories, and stories to provide a more personal perspective on the elements of writing. Martin provides encouragement by sharing what he's learned from his journey through frustrations, challenges, and successes. Most important, Telling Stories emphasizes that you are not alone on this journey and that writers must remain focused on what they love: the process of moving words on the page. By focusing on that purpose, Martin contends, the journey will always take you where you're meant to go.
Writing, Directing, and Producing Documentary Films and Digital Videos by
In a new edition of this popular guidebook, filmmakers Alan Rosenthal and Ned Eckhardt show readers how to utilize the latest innovations in equipment, technologies, and production techniques for success in the digital, web-based world of documentary film. All twenty-four chapters of the volume have been revised to reflect the latest advances in documentary filmmaking. Rosenthal and Eckhardt discuss the myriad ways in which technological changes have impacted the creation process of documentary films, including how these evolving technologies both complicate and enrich filmmaking today. The book provides crucial insights for the filmmaker from the film's conception to distribution of the finished film. Topics include creating dynamic proposals, writing narration, and navigating the murky world of contracts. Also included are many practical tips for first-time filmmakers. To provide context and to illustrate techniques, Rosenthal and Eckhardt reference more than one hundred documentaries in detail. A new appendix, "Using the Web and Social Media to Prepare for Your Career," guides filmmakers through the process of leveraging social media and crowdsourcing for success in filmmaking, fund-raising, and promotion. A day-to-day field manual packed with invaluable lessons, this volume is essential reading for both novice and experienced documentary filmmakers.
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by
Helps both engineers and students improve their writing skills by learning to analyze target audience, tone, and purpose in order to effectively write technical documents This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace. It teaches readers how considerations of audience and purpose govern the structure of their documents within particular work settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields is broken up into two sections: "Writing in Engineering Organizations" and "What Can You Do With Writing?" The first section helps readers approach their writing in a logical and persuasive way as well as analyze their purpose for writing. The second section demonstrates how to distinguish rhetorical situations and the generic forms to inform, train, persuade, and collaborate. The emergence of the global workplace has brought with it an increasingly important role for effective technical communication. Engineers more often need to work in cross-functional teams with people in different disciplines, in different countries, and in different parts of the world. Engineers must know how to communicate in a rapidly evolving global environment, as both practitioners of global English and developers of technical documents. Effective communication is critical in these settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields Addresses the increasing demand for technical writing courses geared toward engineers Allows readers to perfect their writing skills in order to present knowledge and ideas to clients, government, and general public Covers topics most important to the working engineer, and includes sample documents Includes a companion website that offers engineering documents based on real projects The IEEE Guide to Engineering Communication is a handbook developed specifically for engineers and engineering students. Using an argumentation framework, the handbook presents information about forms of engineering communication in a clear and accessible format. This book introduces both forms that are characteristic of the engineering workplace and principles of logic and rhetoric that underlie these forms. As a result, students and practicing engineers can improve their writing in any situation they encounter, because they can use these principles to analyze audience, purpose, tone, and form.
Scientific writing = thinking in words by
The simple principles in this book will help you to clarify the objectives of your work and present your results with impact. Fully updated throughout, with practical examples of good and bad writing, an expanded chapter on writing for non-scientists and a new chapter on writing grant applications, this book makes communicating research easier and encourages researchers to write confidently. It is an ideal reference for researchers preparing journal articles, posters, conference presentations, reviews and popular articles; for students preparing theses; and for researchers whose first language is not English.
Scientific Writing and Communication: papers, proposals, and presentations by 
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry by
This writing guide, by the author of Pearson's best-selling Short Guide to Writing about Biology along with two well-known chemists, teaches students to think as chemists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing. Providing students with the tools they'll need to be successful writers, A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry emphasizes writing as a way of examining, evaluating, and sharing ideas. The book teaches readers how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Students are also given detailed advice on locating, evaluating, and citing useful sources within the discipli≠ maintaining effective laboratory notebooks and writing laboratory reports; writing effective research proposals and reports; and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.
Writing Scientific Research Articles by
This book shows scientists how to apply their analysis and synthesis skills to overcoming the challenge of how to write, as well as what to write, to maximise their chances of publishing in international scientific journals. The book uses analysis of the scientific article genre to provide clear processes for writing each section of a manuscript, starting with clear 'story' construction and packaging of results. Each learning step uses practical exercises to develop writing and data presentation skills based on reader analysis of well-written example papers. Strategies are presented for responding to referee comments, and for developing discipline-specific English language skills for manuscript writing and polishing. The book is designed for scientists who use English as a first or an additional language, and for individual scientists or mentors or a class setting. In response to reader requests, the new edition includes review articles and the full range of research article formats, as well as applying the book's principles to writing funding applications. Web support for this book is available at www.writeresearch.com.au
The Columbia Guide to Social Work Writing by
Social work practitioners write for a variety of publications, and they are expected to show fluency in a number of related fields. Whether the target is a course instructor, scholarly journal, fellowship organization, or general news outlet, social workers must be clear, persuasive, and comprehensive in their writing, especially on provocative subjects. This first-of-its-kind guide features top scholars and educators providing a much-needed introduction to social work writing and scholarship. Foregrounding the process of social work writing, the coeditors particularly emphasize how to think about and approach one's subject in a productive manner. The guide begins with an overview of social work writing from the 1880s to the present, and then follows with ideal strategies for academic paper writing, social work journal writing, and social work research writing. A section on applied professional writing addresses student composition in field education, writing for and about clinical practice, the effective communication of policy information to diverse audiences, program and proposal development, advocacy, and administrative writing. The concluding section focuses on specific fields of practice, including writing on child and family welfare, contemporary social issues, aging, and intervention in global contexts. Grounding their essays in systematic observations, induction and deduction, and a wealth of real-world examples, the contributors describe the conceptualization, development, and presentation of social work writing in ways that better secure its power and relevance.
Professional writing for social work practice by
This invaluable guide helps social workers develop the writing skills necessary for a successful career. Actual examples drawn from all arenas of social work demonstrate strong and problematic writing. Organized around the core social work curriculum, the book's examples are applicable to every foundation course. Each example begins with field notes and proceeds through drafts to the final version, with explanations about corrections. Readers learn by doing through exercises interspersed throughout. Written by a social work professor and an English professor, the book provides a fusion of writing and practice, covering all the tools necessary for developing professional social work writing skills
Professional writing for the criminal justice system by
This user-friendly guide to effective writing for the justice system teaches readers to write cogently and accurately across the spectrum of criminal justice-related disciplines. With an examination of common writing problems that interfere with good reporting and documentation, the book's content underscores the importance of skilled written communication as a cornerstone of competent practice within criminology. It provides examples of strong writing that demonstrate communication of cultural competency and help students develop critical thinking/writing skills. Of outstanding value are numerous examples of real-world writing alongside discussion questions and explanations, enabling students to think critically and truly understand what constitutes good writing. Actual forms and records used in practice are included along with real-world writing examples drawn from all areas of practice: police, corrections, probation and parole services, social work, miscellaneous court documents, and victim advocate services requiring all kinds of writing, including case notes, incident reports, op-ed essays, press releases, grant applications, and more. A robust Glossary of Writing and Writing Errors concludes the book.
Publishing Your Psychology Research by
Dennis McInerney's Publishing Your Psychology Research has bridged a much needed gap in the research process literature, providing a well-oiled treaty from both insider and outsider perspectives as to what it takes to become a credible and published author. Dr. Shawn Van Etten Director of Institutional Research Herkimer County Community College State University of New York Do you want to publish your psychology research in the 'best' journals? Whether you are new to the game or a seasoned researcher, Dennis McInerney shows you how to maximise your chances of publication from the very beginning of your research project. Richly illustrated with tips and examples, Publishing Your Psychology Research demystifies the publication process. It explains how to design your research to ensure it has potential for publication, and how to write up your results into an effective article. It outlines what journal editors are looking for, how to select the appropriate journals to approach, and how to react to reviewers' feedback. Publishing Your Psychology Research is an essential handbook for anyone interested in building a reputation as a researcher in their chosen field of psychology.
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology: How to Meet APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology offers practical guidance for understanding and implementing the American Psychological Association's Journal Article Reporting Standards for Quantitative Research (JARS-Quant) and Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (MARS). These standards lay out the essential pieces information researchers need to report, including detailed accounts of the methods they followed, data results and analysis, interpretations of their findings, and implications for future research.
This new edition reflects updates to the original JARS and the MARS that meet researchers' developing needs in the behavioral, social, educational, and medical sciences. Author Harris Cooper analyzes examples from APA journals, offering readers easy-to-read advice for implementing these revised standards in their own writing while also conforming with the APA Style guidelines laid out in the sixth edition of the Publication Manual . New and expanded chapters offer more detailed guidelines for reporting statistical analyses and unique elements of different types of research, including replication studies, clinical trials, and observational studies. This book is essential reading for experienced and early career researchers alike, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in research methods classes.
The SAGE Guide to Writing in Criminal Justice Research Methods by
The SAGE Guide to Writing in Criminal Justice Research Methods equips students with transferable writing skills that can be applied across the field of criminal justice--both academically and professionally. Authors Jennifer M. Allen and Steven Houglandinterweave professional and applied writing, academic writing, and information literacy, with the result being a stronger, more confident writer, researcher, and student in criminal justice. Focused on teaching students how to write in the academic setting while introducing them to a number of other writing tools specific to research methods, such as writing literature reviews, abstracts, proposals, and more. The perfect companion for any criminal justice research methods course, this brief text focuses on key topics that will benefit students in their classes and in the field.
Write It Up: practical strategies for writing and publishing journal articles by
How do you write good research articles -- articles that are interesting, compelling, and easy to understand? How do you write papers that influence the field instead of falling into obscurity? Write It Up offers a practical and revealing look at how productive researchers write strong articles. The book's guiding idea is that academics should write to make an impact, not just to get something published somewhere. Your work will be more influential if you approach it reflectively and strategically. Based on his experience as an author, journal editor, and reviewer, Paul Silvia offers systematic approaches to problems like picking journals; cultivating the right tone and style; managing collaborative projects and co-authors; crafting effective Introduction, Method, Results, and Discussion sections; and submitting and resubmitting papers to journals. With its light-hearted style and practical advice, Write It Up will help graduate students struggling with writing their first paper, early career professors who need advice on how to write better articles, and seasoned academic writers looking to refresh their writing strategy or style.
Handbook for Academic Authors by
Whether you are a graduate student seeking to publish your first article, a new Ph.D. revising your dissertation for publication, or an experienced author working on a new monograph, textbook, or digital publication, Handbook for Academic Authors provides reliable, concise advice about selecting the best publisher for your work, maintaining an optimal relationship with your publisher, submitting manuscripts to book and journal publishers, working with editors, navigating the production process, and helping to market your book. It also offers information about illustrations, indexes, permissions, and contracts and includes a chapter on revising dissertations and one on the financial aspects of publishing. The book covers not only scholarly monographs but also textbooks, anthologies, multiauthor books, and trade books. The fifth edition has been revised and updated to align with new technological and financial realities, taking into account the impact of digital technology and the changes it has made in authorship and publishing.
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing is a groundbreaking resource that offers emerging and experienced scholars from all disciplines a comprehensive review of the essential elements needed to craft scholarly papers and other writing suitable for submission to academic journals. The authors discuss the components of different types of manuscripts, explain the submission process, and offer readers suggestions for working with editors and coauthors, dealing with rejection, and rewriting and resubmitting their work. They include advice for developing quality writing skills, outline the fundamentals of a good review, and offer guidance for becoming an excellent manuscript reviewer. "One of those rare books that will teach you something new every time you pick it up. It belongs on the desks of emerging scholars and writing professors everywhere."--Nancy L. Zimpher, chancellor, The State University of New York "Rocco and Hatcher have done every scholar, doctoral student, and committee chair a huge favor by putting this book together. Now in one place we can find resources to help graduate students and scholars get over their writing blocks and fear of writing, and learn how to write successfully."--Alan L. Carsrud, Loretta Rogers Chair of Entrepreneurship Research, Ryerson University, and associate editor, Journal of Small Business Management "This handbook performs a valuable service by collecting the wisdom of scholars from different disciplines and countries and offering publishing guidance that is both rigorous and systematic. Everyone who writes for scholarly publication will benefit from the insights provided by this book."--Tom Radko, editor, Journal of Scholarly Publishing
Pathways Through Writing Blocks in the Academic Environment by
"This book offers something for every academic writer, whether budding or experienced. Students struggling with essays and dissertations will find many practical exercises along with invaluable advice. More practised writers will encounter fresh insights.... I am confident that you, the reader, will enjoy this book, which is itself a model of good writing."--Dr Linda Finlay, the Open University, UK. Writing blocks are likely to strike any writer, even experienced ones, at sometime or another. Academia has its own challenges which can provoke blocks particular to that environment. Drawing on her knowledge as writer, psychotherapeutic counsellor and university tutor, Kate Evans has put together a book which addresses many of the differing aspects of writing blocks, including looking at their emotional and psychological foundations. With discussion and practical exercises, this volume suggests that an infusion of creative techniques can offer pathways through writing blocks in the academic environment. The case studies provide an in-depth consideration of varying experiences of writing blocks. The book is aimed at students with essays, projects or reports to write, or theses to tackle; as well as academics who are working on articles and books. It will also offer insights for supervisors who wish to support those who are writing and guidance for people running writing groups within academia. Over-all the book encourages a creative, collaborative approach which aims to equip academics for writing within the context of the twenty-first century.
Write More, Publish More, Stress Less!
2021 Textbook Excellence Award Winner (College: Humanities, Education, and Social Sciences) In this book Dr. Dannelle D. Stevens offers five key principles that will bolster your knowledge of academic writing, enable you to develop a manageable, sustainable, and even enjoyable writing practice, and, in the process, effectively increase your publication output and promote your academic career. A successful and productive book and journal article author, writing coach, creator of a nationally-recognized, cross-disciplinary faculty writing program, and with a long career as a faculty member and experience as a department chair, Dr. Stevens offers a unique combination of motivation, reflective practices, analytical tools, templates, and advice to set you on the path to being a productive and creative writer. Drawing on her experience as a writer and on her extensive research into the psychology of writing and the craft of scholarly writing, Dr. Stevens starts from the premise that most faculty have never been taught to write and that writers, both experienced and novice, frequently experience anxiety and self-doubt that erode confidence. She begins by guiding readers to understand themselves as writers and discover what has impeded or stimulated them in the past to establish positive new attitudes and sustainable habits. Dr. Stevens provides strategies for setting doable goals, organizing a more productive writing life, and demonstrates the benefits of writing groups, including offering a variety of ways in which you can experiment with collaborative practice. In addition, she offers a series of reflections, exercises, and activities to spark your writing fluency and creativity. Whether developing journal articles, book chapters, book proposals, book reviews, or conference proposals, this book will help you demystify the hidden structures and common patterns in academic writing and help you match your manuscript to the language, structures, and conventions of your discipline--be it in the sciences, social sciences, or humanities. Most importantly, believing that connecting your passions with your work is essential to stimulating your ideas and enthusiasm, this essential guide offers you the knowledge and skills to write more.
Writing in education : the art of writing for educators by
Writing in Education: The Art of Writing for Educators explores representations of meaning in light of teachers' and teacher candidates' responsibilities as professionals in the field of education. Practical examples of field-based work and discussions of reflective, multimodal, and cross-literate practices make this book an important and accessible resource.
Writing Successful Academic Books
'Publish or perish' is a well-established adage in academia. Never has the pressure on academics to publish been greater. Yet the prospect of writing a book can seem daunting, while the business of getting it published may be mystifying. Written by an expert in academic publishing, Writing Successful Academic Books provides a practical guide to both writing and getting published. It covers all stages of academic authorship from developing the initial idea for a book through to post-publication issues, showing how to avoid the common pitfalls and achieve academic and professional success through publication. Full of real life examples, including a sample book proposal, the book covers everything you need to know to build up an authorial career. This is an invaluable guide for academic authors - prospective or established - in all disciplines.
