EndNote Basic is a reference management software allows you to collect and curate your research material, format bibliographies and makes it easier to collaborate with your colleagues. You will need to create an account to use EndNote Basic.
EndNote Resources
EndNote -- The Short Course -- This video has all the information you need to get started using EndNote, citation management software.
Tutorials from EndNote -- Browse the list of topics from EndNote help to find just what you need.
EverNote is a free note-taking application that can be used via the Web or using a client for computer or mobile devices. You can use it to type notes, capture audio notes, and upload documents to your account; the company allows other software developers to work with it and as a result, has many other software packages that will sync notes and documents with EverNote.
Evernote for Dummies
Organize your life the simple, painless way with Evernote! Evernote makes it easy to remember things big and small using your computer, smartphone, or the web. If you can see it or think of it, Evernote can help you remember it! Now you can type a text note, clip a web page, snap a photo, or grab a screenshot and Evernote will keep it all. Through Evernote, you can tap into a free suite of software and services designed to make note taking and archiving simple. Now you'll be able to easily capture any moment, idea, inspiration, or experience no matter what device or platform you are using. The Second Edition of this bestselling book is revised throughout to cover the latest features, updates, and enhancements made to Evernote! Follow the simple steps to quickly register and set up your Evernote account Discover how easy it is to move and organize notes Access all your information on your computer, the web, smartphone, tablet, or e-reader Explore Evernote's open scripting and explore how to be an Evernote developer Evernote For Dummies, 2nd Edition is the ideal reference to help you take control of your life and get organized with Evernote. This handy guide makes it a breeze use Evernote to store, organize, and access practically anything, everywhere.
Click for a playlist of short videos from Evernote For Dummies User Basics Course
Topics include:
Microsoft OneNote is a computer program for free-form information gathering and multi-user collaboration. It gathers users' notes, drawings, screen clippings and audio commentaries. Notes can be shared with other OneNote users over the Internet or a network.
Unleash the Power of OneNote by
Covering the use of Microsoft OneNote in a wide variety of situations, this handbook provides tips for anyone who takes notes, organizes materials, or keeps a to-do list. In addition to providing the basic information on using the product's interface, this guide teaches how to use OneNote to do specific tasks such as brainstorming, mind mapping, storyboarding, and minutes taking. Also discussed are using OneNote on a Tablet PC, using the existing stationery files to organize notes for a wide variety of classes, and finding OneNote resources online.
Watch these streaming video tutorials from Alexander Street Press.
Zotero is a free and easy-to-use tool that helps you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It is designed to store, manage, and cite bibliographic references, such as books and articles. In Zotero, each of these references constitutes an item. More broadly, Zotero is a powerful tool for collecting and organizing research information and sources.
|
To install Zotero on your own device, follow these steps:
|
To install Zotero on your own device, follow these steps:
Go to Zotero.org
Download Zotero (Windows - macOS - Linux 32-bit - Linux 64-bit)
The MSWord/Open Office plugin is installed by default
Install Zotero Connector for Chrome, Firefox, and Safari
Tutorials:
Quick start guide -- Zotero: The Basics
Writing the Literature Review by
This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is clearly explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, vignettes, and examples of student work. Also featured are excerpts from peer-reviewed quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods articles. This is the first book to focus on crafting different types of reviews (systematic, traditional-narrative, or hermeneutic-phenomenological) that reflect the writer's research question, methodological choices, and approaches to knowledge. It describes what all reviews have in common and highlights distinct characteristics of each type. The book includes dos and don'ts for evaluating studies and constructing an argument, and software suggestions for locating, organizing, and arranging sources.
Literature Reviews Made Easy by
This book is designed to help you achieve one specific goal. It's not designed to give you the philosophies of conducting research. It's not designed to give you a background in a specific academic discipline or a specific topic. It's not designed to give you theory. It's designed specifically to instruct you in the practicalities of the writing process used to create strong, thorough, and potentially bulletproof literature reviews. This book is the culmination of years of research experience. It's also the culmination of several years of teaching writing and critical thinking to doctoral students. Although it began as a tool for doctoral students, it has been expanded to be useful for everyone from senior high school students through doctoral candidates working on developing their first literature review or a larger literature review than they normally develop. It has been created for everyone from academics to new business entrepreneurs with good ideas who are trying to write their first reviews to support the new idea they're proposing.
Conducting Your Literature Review by
This book is a step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication. Literature reviews are now much more challenging to compile today than they used to be. You need a structured approach to handle the sheer volume of published research available. This book will help you formulate a strategy for making decisions about what to include and not include in your review, and produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research. You will learn skills for defining research questions, using search tools and managing citations. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish.
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
How do I start my literature review? What sources can I go to for information? How do I analyze the work of others?
This clear, practical book guides readers undertaking their own literature review through the process, giving them the skills and knowledge they need for success.
The chapters address:
- Different types of literature reviews
- Critically analysing material
- Presenting the final piece of work
- Best practice in referencing and plagiarism
- Systematic approaches to literature reviews
It will be an essential guide for all nursing and all allied healthcare students, as well as professionals working in practice.
The Literature Review: six steps to success by
This new edition of the best-selling book offers graduate students in education and the social sciences a road map to developing and writing an effective literature review for a research project, thesis, or dissertation. Organized around a proven six-step model and incorporating technology into all of the steps, the book provides examples, strategies, and exercises that take students step by step through the entire process:
Selecting a topic
Searching the literature
Developing arguments
Surveying the literature
Critiquing the literature
Writing the literature review
The second edition includes key vocabulary words, technology advice, and additional tips on when and how to write during the early stages--including the use of journals and memoranda--to make the literature review process a success.
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Reviewing the literature is an essential part of every research project. This book takes you step-by-step through the process of approaching your literature review systematically, applying systematic principles to a wide range of literature review types. Through numerous examples, case studies and exercises, the book covers often neglected areas of literature review such as concept analysis, scoping and mapping.
The book includes practical tools for supporting the various stages of the review process, including;
- managing your literature review
- searching the literature
- assessing the quality of the literature
- synthesising qualitative and/or quantitative data
- writing up and presenting data
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review is essential reading for any student or researcher looking to approach their literature review in a systematic way.