Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Genealogy

Websites

Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy 1719-1820 -- Searchable database of slaves found in documents in Louisiana between 1718 and 1821 from Dr. Gwendolyn Midlo Hall.

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet -- A directory of websites for genealogical research.

Family History Library Catalog -- The online catalog of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Includes microfilmed and microfiched records, books, serials, and maps from United States, Canada, the British Isles, Europe, Latin America, Asia, and Africa. Many microforms may be ordered and viewed at a Family History Center (branch library) and at some local public libraries (including the Covington branch of the St. Tammany Parish Library).

Find A Grave -- A free database to find or enter cemetery records from around the world.

Free Genealogy Charts and Forms-- Links to sources for free charts, forms.

Lousiana Sons of the American Revolution (SAR) -- For those looking for Revolutionary War service of Louisiana men, Churchill's SAR Spanish Records, Spanish-English War, 1779-1783 book has been digitized and uploaded here. See Part I for the name index.

Louisiana State Archives -- Website of the Louisiana State Archives, official repository for Louisiana's historical records, including a manuscript collection and research library.

Louisiana Genealogical and Historical Society -- A non-profit organization that provides educational opportunities and links to Louisiana genealogy and publishes a The Register, quarterly journal focusing on Louisiana genealogy.

Louisiana Newspaper Project -- Catalog of extant Louisiana newspapers.

Louisiana Archivists and Manuscripts Association -- Website of the Louisiana Archivists and Manuscripts Association with links to Louisiana archives and special collections and a guide to institutions in Louisiana holding genealogical and historical record collections.

Mocavo -- a genealogy search engine.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) Genealogy website -- Website of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), providing guides, resources, and records from the federal agency that preserves U.S. history and manages all federal records.

National Genealogical Society -- Website of the National Genealogical Society (NGS), a non-profit organization that provides educational opportunities and information on genealogical standards, and publishes a newsletter and quarterly journal.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections -- This Library of Congress website assists with finding archival materials in special collections around the world.
New Orleans Public Library Louisiana Division City Archives and Special Collections -- Website of the New Orleans Public Library Special Collections with finding aids, tips and searchable database index of early New Orleans obituaries and marriages.

Old New Orleans -- A website with many historical photos of New Orleans and surrounding areas.

Online Historical Directories  -- Lists free and commercial sources for US and International city, county, business, historical alumni, farm, Masonic, rural, social, and other types of directories.

Online Historical Newspapers -- Lists free and commercial sources for US and International newspapers

USGenWeb Project -- Website of the all-volunteer USGenWeb Project, providing access to free websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. State and county pages provide online resources, links to research repositories, genealogical and historical societies, maps, mailing lists and special projects for that geographical area.