Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Genealogy

Family History

Indexes & Databases provided by Sims Library [Log-in Required]

American Slavery-- Provides the full-text life histories of former slaves; based on interviews conducted by the WPA Field Writers' Project workers in 1936-38. [Scroll down to the selections named American Slave in this database.]

The following databases provide background historical information. These are not genealogical databases.
America:History and Life-- Indexes and abstracts articles from scholarly journals, book reviews and dissertations covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes links to full-text articles in JSTOR, Project Muse and the History Cooperative.

Historical Abstracts-- Indexes and abstracts scholarly journals, book reviews and dissertations covering modern world history from 1450 to the present. Includes links to full-text articles in JSTOR, Project Muse and the History Cooperative.

America's Historical Newspapers -- African American Newspapers (1827-1998) and Selected Historical Newspapers from Louisiana (1805-1936); includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune and Baton Rouge Advocate for selected dates. A complete title list is available by clicking on the Local Newspapers tab.