LibGuides: Interprofessional Education (IPE): IPE Articles & Journals

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Includes full text of 6 evidence-based healthcare databases: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, The Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Emerald Health & Social Care eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides some full text of articles from international journals in subjects including intellectual/learning disabilities, mental health, criminology and forensic practice, working with vulnerable groups and management of services.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers medical disciplines and information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements. Contains 650 full text journals and abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide
Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/nahd]
Psychology & Behavorial Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles on topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is also indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free government database for all things medical.
Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source This link opens in a new window
The database covers rehabilitation and sports medicine topics including orthopedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise, and physical therapy.

IPE Journals

Health, Interprofessional Practice & Education Health, Interprofessional Practice & Education is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to increasing the availability of high-quality evidence to inform patient care and practitioner education from an interprofessional perspective. HIPE is aimed at academics, practitioners and student-practitioners who seek to become more knowledgeable and skilled at working with providers in other health disciplines for the purpose of providing compassionate, quality, integrated care to diverse patient populations.
Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice Note: Some articles from this journal are open-access. Others you will need to request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Journal Description: Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice, a quarterly online-only journal, provides innovative ideas for interprofessional educators and practitioners through peer-reviewed articles and reports. Each issue examines current issues and trends in interprofessional healthcare topics, offering progressive solutions to the challenges facing the profession.
Journal of Intraprofessional Care Dedicated to the futherance of whole person care within the community, primary health, hospital & other institutional settings. Peer-reviewed. 18-month embargo.
Journal of Multidisciplinary Healthcare The Journal of Multidisciplinary Healthcare (JMDH) aims to represent and publish research in healthcare areas delivered by practitioners of different disciplines. This includes studies and reviews conducted by multidisciplinary teams as well as research which evaluates or reports the results or conduct of such teams or healthcare processes in general. Peer reviewed. Open access.
Journal of Research in Interprofessional Practice & Education Disseminates theoretical perspectives, methodologies, and evidence-based knowledge to inform interprofessional practice, education, and research to improve health care delivery, and quality of care. Peer-reviewed. Open Access.
MedEdPortal: The Journal of Teaching and Learning Resources A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that promotes educational scholarship and dissemination of teaching and assessment resources in the health professions

Interlibrary Loan

What is Interlibrary Loan (ILL)?
Interlibrary Loan is a service by which Sims Library obtains research materials not available in the Sims Library. Current students, faculty and staff are eligible to use ILL.

In order to request materials through interlibrary loan, all users must first register through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system. After registering, users can request interlibrary loan materials through ILLiad, check the status of their requests, and view a history of requests submitted through ILLiad.

CHECK OUT THE INTERLIBRARY LOAN LIBGUIDE