Resources owned or subscribed to by Sims Library
ABC-CLIO ebook Collection - The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection provides modern tools for successful research inquiries.
Duke University Press Books - Duke University Press Books includes perpetual access to over 300 new electronic books published in the humanities and social sciences from 2012 - 2014, and term access to over 1,400 backlist titles. To access: Visit the library website, click on "Articles & Databases, select the C-D list, and scroll down to Duke University Press Books.
eBooks on EBSCOhost - Currently-enrolled Southeastern students, faculty, and staff have 24/7 access to 71,000+ downloadable eBooks and over 100 downloadable eAudiobooks through links in the Library's catalog or by accessing the eBooks on EBSCOhost or eAudiobooks on EBSCOhost directly.
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary College Complete) - Ebook Central is an interdisciplinary ebook collection from a number of academic subjects. The collection includes current and previously published titles from a variety of presses, with new titles added periodically. To access Ebook Central visit the library website, click on the "Articles & Databases" tab, select the E database list, scroll down to Ebook Central.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - A searchable database of many online reference books covering a variety of subjects.
IOPConcise Physics - A set of 178 books developed with Morgan & Claypool Publishers.
Books at JSTOR - Over 32,000 ebooks, published prior to 2016, from 42 publishers. Collection is strong in the humanities and social sciences, with some science content. JSTOR ebbook chapters are DRM (Digital Rights Management) free, and allow for multiple simultaneous use, PDF downloads, and printing.
literati by Credo - Provides a single search interface for multiple encyclopedias, dictionaries and atlases and across the library’s licensed periodical databases for magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals. Links to the Library's catalog.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography - 55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002.
Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - This collected list, created by Reference Librarians at Sims, contains a variety of online dictionaries and encyclopedias available through Sims Library and on the Web.
R2 Digital Library - R2 Library is an eBook database of Nursing and Allied Health books.
SAGE Knowledge - SAGE Knowledge subject collections include ebooks in Education, Business & Management, Counseling and Psychotherapy, and Health and Social Care. The SAGE platform delivers both scholarly monographs and eReference content published from 1996 to the present. The SAGE collections currently contain 1534 ebook titles. To access SAGE Knowledge: Visit the library website, click on the "Articles & Databases" tab, select the R-S database list, scroll down to SAGE Knowledge
UPCC Book Collections on Project Muse – Southeastern users have unlimited access to over 1830 electronic books in the humanities and social sciences.published in 2012 by participating university and scholarly presses. The collection is hosted on the Project Muse platform, and Muse electronic book and journal content may be searched simultaneously or separately. Electronic books are fully searchable. Unlimited downloading and printing of book chapter PDF files is available to students and faculty.
Bartleby.com: Great Books - Contains the searchable texts of popular reference works, books, and poetry in one convenient web portal
Gutenburg Project - Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Many popular titles also have an audiobook version available.
Hathi Trust Digital Library - A digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries
Library of Southern Literature - The "Library of Southern Literature" includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924.
Making of America - A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Online Books Page - The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.
Google Books allows you to search the full-text of many books for quotations and even read whole books that are past their copyright date for free.