MLA Handbook Plus Available
MLA Handbook Plus provides online access to the MLA Handbook, a self-paced video course MLA 101, and two other books to help with research. Note that you will need to login with your w# and Library Pin (6 digit birthdate) to access these resources.
Online Guides to Using MLA Style
MLA Style Center : Official MLA website with resources for formatting papers, composing references, and more.
Works Cited Quick Guide : Official MLA website with quick looks at citation and discussion of "containers."
MLA Practice Template : Official MLA template for creating citations
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Southeastern English Department Guide:
Relevant Sections
"MLA Documentation and Format" (p.634)
"Two Research Papers in MLA Style" (p.682)
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
McGehee Hall, Room 102
301 Ned McGehee Dr
Hammond, LA 70402
Appointments can be made by calling the Writing Center at 985-549-2076
or by email at writing@southeastern.edu