101 Careers in Health Care Management
A] digestible yet comprehensive resource describing the many career opportunities in healthcare management... and] a valuable resource for current undergraduate and graduate students as well as career changers interested in pursing a job in the healthcare management field."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Careers in health administration continue to grow despite an overall downturn in the economy. This is a field that offers tremendous job opportunities across the spectrum of healthcare delivery and payment organizations. 101 Careers in Healthcare Management is the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The guide clearly explains the responsibilities and duties of each of these careers and how they differ from other management jobs. It describes the integral role of healthcare administrators in creating and sustaining the systems that allow healthcare clinicians to do their best work. The book covers educational requirements, opportunities, traditional and nontraditional career pathways, and helps students assess whether they are temperamentally and intellectually suited to a career in healthcare management. Based on the most current data from the U.S. Department of Labor and professional societies in healthcare management, the guide describes careers in 14 different healthcare and related settings. These include long-term care, physician practices, commercial insurance, consulting firms, pharmaceuticals, medical devices, information technology, and biotechnology. Additionally, the book offers numerous interviews with health administrators, from those in entry-level positions to CEOs, to more vividly portray potential careers. Key Features: Presents the only comprehensive guide to all major employment opportunities in health administration Written in clear, jargon-free text Authored by two senior and highly respected leaders in health administration education Includes interviews with many different healthcare administrators at various types of organizations
101 Careers in Healthcare Management
101 Careers in Healthcare Management, Second Edition continues to be the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The second edition has been updated throughout and includes three new chapters that will assist students and healthcare managers alike.
Take Charge of Your Healthcare Management Career
| Department of Health and Human Sciences | Department of Kinesiology and Health Studies |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
301 Careers in Nursing
Written for nurses of all education and experience levels, 301 Careers in Nursing highlights the exceptional array of diverse opportunities available to those interested in a career in nursing. Each of the carefully selected and researched careers described in this book embraces the core dimensions of nursing: caring, competence, and commitment to excellence in caring for others at all stages of life. If you are considering a career in nursing, if you know someone who is considering a career in nursing, if you are a guidance counselor, or if you are already a nurse but considering a change, you will benefit from this resource to the most prominent careers in nursing today. This edition features 100 additional career options, with an emphasis on those available to the growing number of advanced practice nurses. Also new to this edition are 25 interviews from nurses practicing in a multitude of areas. These snapshots give you an inside look at opportunities in academia and practice settings that might be unfamiliar. -- Provided by publisher.
Fast Facts for Developing a Nursing Academic Portfolio
" A] great guide and resource for a nurse at any level who wishes to construct and present a professional nurse portfolio."--Journal for Nurses in Professional Development "With an academic portfolio nursing faculty members can monitor their career development and present their work for others to review and critique. This is an easy-to-read book that will serve as a valuable resource for nursing faculty members in developing their academic portfolios." Marilyn H. Oermann, PhD, RN, FAAN, ANEF Professor and Chair of Adult and Geriatric Health School of Nursing University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Using the Fast Facts style of concise, easy-to-access information, this book is the only comprehensive guide to creating an outstanding professional academic portfolio for entry into, and promotion and tenure within, an academic nursing setting. It is designed for recent nursing graduates who want to teach, faculty who need to polish their academic portfolio, and individuals already established in academia who seek promotion or tenure. This volume will help nursing academics: Assess their strengths and weaknessesWrite a personal statementDemonstrate their teaching skillsShowcase their research/scholarshipOrganize and present their portfolioDevelop an E-portfolio The book provides clear guidelines on what to include in a professional portfolio, and elements to highlight when seeking work in a specific discipline or academic role. It describes pitfalls to be avoided and how to insure effective coverage of teaching, scholarship, and service, as well as addresses the differences between systems and policies of academia, versus those of community college nursing programs and diploma schools of nursing. This guide also helps prepare nurses for the rigors of promotion and tenure by clarifying what to expect and how candidates are evaluated. Numerous examples illustrate actual professional faculty experience and include personal statements written by successful nurse educators. Key Features: Provides a concise, step-by-step guide for aspiring, new, and experienced nurse faculty who need to prepare an outstanding professional portfolio for promotion and tenureOrganized for quick access to types of content to be included in portfolioIncludes numerous examples from real-life portfoliosFeatures "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" to clearly guide new nurse facultyProvides recommendations for achieving academic advancementBased on SBAR (Situation, Background, Assessment, and Recommendation) method of communication
Accelerate Your Career in Nursing
This book spells out how nurses can recognize and document their accomplishments and then use them to advance within health care. Ultimately this is a practical guide that will help nurses pursue the credentials they need to earn a place at the health care table, in whatever setting that may be.
Working in Public Health
What can you contribute to improving and protecting the health of your community? Public health is becoming an increasingly central area of healthcare practice and people working in public health come from a wide range of disciplines and backgrounds. This practical and accessible book maps out the range of exciting and varied options open to people considering a career in public health, and provides helpful information on how to get there, either as a fully-fledged specialist or in an operational practitioner role. Designed especially for those wanting to learn about public heath, it looks at public health work in a range of settings, from health services to the commercial sector, and in a range of different roles, from health protection to public health intelligence. Numerous personal accounts and case studies from highly experienced practitioners and specialists, as well as those new to their roles, illustrate what their roles involve and how have they had an impact on improving health and reducing inequality. This is the ideal book for anyone interested in putting public health at the centre of their working lives.
Careers in Sport, Fitness, and Exercise
Careers in Sport, Fitness, and Exercise is your guide to landing your dream job in one of today's most exciting, popular, and fastest-growing industries Produced by the American Kinesiology Association, this hands-on guide includes detailed job descriptions, information on working conditions, salary ranges, responsibilities, key skills, and required certifications for 36 careers in sport and fitness: - Aquatic therapist - Athletic trainer (college or university sport team) - Athletic trainer (high school sport team) - Athletic trainer (as physician extender) - Athletic trainer (clinical) - Personal trainer - Group exercise instructor - Strength and conditioning coach - Fitness center owner or manager - Fitness leader in gerontology settings - Health promotion specialist - Fitness specialist - Physical education teacher - Sport instructor - Coach - Sport official - Sport psychologist - Sport administrator - Sport marketer - Media and public relations specialist - Professional scout - Sport event manager - Sport journalist - Sport facility operations manager - Clinical exercise physiologist - Certified clinical exercise specialist - Sport dietitian - Sports medicine clinic director - Physical therapist - Occupational therapist - Medical and osteopathic physicians - Chiropractor - Physician assistant - Kinesiology professor - Kinesiology researcher - Kinesiology department administrator If you are ready to pursue a job in the sport, fitness, or exercise industry, Careers in Sport, Fitness, and Exercise is one resource you can't be without.
The Comprehensive Guide to Careers in Sports
As more students enter the growing field of sports management, there is a greater need for information informing them about their career choices. Careers in Sports provides an overview of what students should consider and expect from the varied career options available to them. This book answers the questions students are most likely to have, including what courses they should take, what areas are available to them, what salary can they expect to earn after graduation, and how they can get the job of their dreams. In the highly competitive field of sports management, it is important for individuals to prepare themselves well and to make the right decisions along the way. Although there are no guarantees of success, this book will increase students' likelihood of finding success in the sports industry. Encouraging research and realistic expectations, this book has been developed by an author with many years of experience as a respected practitioner, teacher and internship coordinator.
ACSM's Career and Business Guide for the Fitness Professional
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. ACSM's Career and Business Guide for the Fitness Professional covers the practical aspects of running a successful fitness business and having a successful fitness career. Fitness professionals will have the information they need to start planning their own business and make wise career choices. The book is designed to be very practical and provides forms and succinct how-to instructions for successful business planning.
Careers in Health Information Technology
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can workohospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and trainingoalong with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker itipsi throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekersExplores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within themDetails education requirements and quickest pathways to attain themIncludes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughoutPresents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
Advancing your career in counseling or psychology
This book is intended to assist current graduate students; those interested in a graduate degree in the fields of counseling and psychology and those who have graduated from a graduate program in counseling and psychology gain the information necessary to choose the appropriate career path.