LibGuides: Southeastern Honors Program: Original Research & Honors Thesis Examples

Disclaimer

By opening the links below, be advised you are leaving the Southeastern website. Any accessibility issues should be brought to the attention of the external entity from which this web content has been provided.

Local Newspapers on Microfilm
Sims Library has microfilm copies of the listed Louisiana newspapers. Many of the titles had short runs and name changes. Please check the Library Catalog for exact name changes and dates of issues held by Sims Library. We also have a brand new ScanPro 3000 digital microfilm scanner that makes using microfilm a breeze.
Chronicling America
The Library of Congress's historic newspaper collection. "Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text database of early American newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1922.

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) and Selected Historical Newspapers from Louisiana (1805-1936); includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune for selected dates.
New York Times (1851 to current)
Provides scanned images of The New York Times newspaper pages from 1851 to the present. This publication is also available on micorfilm for the years 1857-2015 in the Serials Department, Film #1.

Sims Memorial Library also owns the following corresponding print indexes:

TITLE: The New York Times Index
LOCATION: REFERENCE ROOM
CALL NUMBER: AI21.N44 and AI21.N45
LIBRARY HAS: 1851 – 2015 (partial)

Back issues of the New York Times are available in Sims Memorial Library on microfilm:

LOCATION: 2ND FLOOR SERIALS MICROFILM CABINETS
CALL NUMBER: Film 1
LIBRARY HAS:

New York Daily Times v.1 no.1 (1851) - v.6:no.1867 (September 12, 1857)

New York Times (September 14, 1857- April 30, 2015)

The Lexis-Nexis Academic database also provides full text html content of the Final New York City Edition (June 1, 1980 - current); abstracts of articles (January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980) and some content from the New York Times on the Web online articles. Access to certain freelance articles and other features may not be available.

Biography in Context database provides some full text html content beginning about 1984 through the present.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Provides digital images of pages and articles. The entire collection includes fifty smaller thematic databases which have been grouped into nine collections: Agriculture, Applied Science & Technology, Art, Business, Education, History, Music, Religion, and Women’s Studies.
America's News
Full text newspapers and news magazines from all over the state and country. Coverage goes back to 1980's to 1990's, depending on source. Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full text U.S. newspapers. Includes articles from Texas newspapers (Galveston Daily Sun, Houston Chronicle, and all over the state), US newspapers (Baltimore Sun, Chicago Sun-Times, Miami Herald, San Francisco Chronicle and more), newswires (Associated Press, CNN, Scripps Howard, UPI News and more) news blogs, web published newspapers, transcripts from network news (60 minutes, CBS, Fox, NPR, PBS and more), major news magazines (The Atlantic, The New Yorker, Popular Science and more) and some video (Associated Press, Center for Investigative Reporting, Mashable and more).
MAS Complete
Provides full-text for more than 570 popular magazines, 117,000 biographies, 73,000 primary source documents, and more than 420 reference books. Provides an Image Collection of 1.6 million photos, maps, flags, and color PDFs

The Ancestry Hunt: Newspaper Links
Offers links to free digital newspapers for each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

Louisiana Digital Library
"The Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of more than 144,000 digital items from Louisiana archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories, making unique historical treasure accessible to students, researchers, and the general public in Louisiana and across the globe. The items in the Louisiana Digital Library are as diverse and interesting as the people and places in Louisiana, with photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more documenting the state’s history and culture."
Historical Archives of the Supreme Court of Louisiana
Unlike other state supreme courts, the Louisiana court could determine matters of fact as well as law. That meant that the court required a complete transcript of the lower court cases. As such, these files are rich in historical documentation you can't find elsewhere. The University of New Orleans is the repository for this collection for the years 1813-1920. Most of the case files from 1813-1878 have been digitized and are available here. To view cases that haven't been digitized, visit the Special Collections department of the Earl K. Long Library at UNO.
State Digital Resources: Memory Projects, Online Encyclopedias, Historical & Cultural Materials Collections
This list, compiled by the Library of Congress, shows the digital historical and cultural resources available for each of the states.
Library of Congress Primary Sources by State
"The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. Click on the map below to see select items from your state."

Find Previous Honors Theses

You can find examples of previous senior honors theses in our library collection. You can also find dissertations on topics similar to yours from other universities.

Senior Honors Theses
Need an example of a previous honors thesis to see how to organize yours? Browse the Senior Honors Theses available online in the Sims Library Catalog. All are available online; just use the "Click here for thesis" link to view the PDF.

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
Offers more than 1.7 million full-text dissertations in the humanities, social sciences, technology and more. Full-text available.

Additional information on the database content and searching can be found on the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses LibGuide [Link to http://proquest.libguides.com/pqdt]

Get Help with Research

Get the help you need using any of the following means:

Chat with a librarian 24/7

Our chat service will connect you with a professional librarian any time of the day or night. You can also reach our chat service by texting us at 985-222-2377

Email Us

Use this form to email us with a quick question or request. We usually respond within 24 hours (unless we're closed, like Saturdays or holidays).

Research Consultation Service

Fill out this form to set up a research consultation appointment for an in-depth one-on-one discussion about your research topic with one of our librarians.

Call or Visit

We still answer your questions the old fashioned ways during our regular hours:

Give us a call: (985) 549-2027
Stop by the Reference Desk on the first floor of the library