This is the "Citing Sources" page of the "Citing Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Sources   Tags: apa, citing_sources, cse, general_reference, mla, style_guides, turabian  

Welcome to the Citing Sources Guide! This guide will provide helpful information on the most common citation styles used at Southeastern.
Last Updated: Jun 20, 2017 URL: http://selu.libguides.com/citing Print Guide RSS Updates

Citing Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Southeastern Writing Center

210 D Vickers Hall, Room 210

For an appointment:
Call: 985.549.2076
 
 

Need Help?

 

Citing Sources

Citing Sources:

This guide presents selected resources to help you with citing sources.

When writing a paper, it is extremely important to give credit when using information  from books, magazine and journal articles, websites, and other information resources through a bibliography, works cited page, or footnotes. A number of citation styles have been created for use in different fields of study such as MLA, APA, Chicago Style, ACS, and others. Check with your instructor if you are unsure about which citation style to use. The above tabs will provide information on how to cite your sources in a bibliography or works cited page using the citation styles used most frequently at Southeastern.

Students taking English Courses: For information on Southeastern Louisiana University Department of English Style Guide consult:
The Little, Brown Handbook, Third Custom Edition for Southeastern. Authors: H. Ramsey Fowler and Jane E. Aaron.
 "Using MLA Documentation and Format" Chapter 47, pages 634-715.

The following website from Duke University provides helpful information on citing sources within a paper and preparing a list of works cited in five different citation styles: APA, Chicago, MLA, Turabian, and CSE.

--Duke University Library Citing Sources

Please add suggestions for other websites and resources here.

 

Plagiarism

What is plagiarism?

Part of being a successful student and researcher is giving proper credit to your sources and using information ethically.

The Southeastern Louisiana University Handbook defines plagiarism as follows:

The term "plagiarism" includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or
unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes stealing and passing off the
ideas and/or words of another as one's
own; using a created production without crediting the source; the unacknowledged
use of materials prepared by another person or agency
engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials;
and/or violations as defined by University policies. (Southeastern Louisiana
University)

You can see that many different acts constitute plagiarism. You may also believe that the above only applies to books or journals, but it applies to all content including websites, videos, and other formats.

Penalties for plagiarism, even accidental plagiarism, are outlined in the General Catalogue under "Academic Integrity." These include lower grades on assignments, failing a class,and probation, suspension, and expulsion from the university. Don't let this happen to you; seek help from your professors, the librarians, or the tools in this LibGuide!

Plagiarism Resources

Plagiarism.org provides some helpful information on intentional and unintentional plagiarism, and on how students can avoid plagiarism by good citation.

Indiana University Writing Tutorial Services provides some helpful information on how to properly paraphrase.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip