LibGuides: Southern Literature Class: Eudora Welty: Library Databases & Guides

Library Databases

The databases listed below will provide the best help for finding articles for this assignment.

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
Literature Criticism Online Literature Criticism Online brings together up to 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search options are combined with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
Sims Memorial Library also owns the following corresponding print books:

TITLE: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Volumes 1-252
LOCATION: REFERENCE ROOM STACKS
CALL NUMBER: PN 771 .C59

TITLE: Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Volumes 1-40, 42-80, 82-194
LOCATION: REFERENCE ROOM STACKS
CALL NUMBER:PN 761 .N5

TITLE: Shakespearean Criticism, Volumes 1-111
LOCATION: REFERENCE ROOM STACKS
CALL NUMBER: PR 2965 .S44

TITLE: Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Volumes 1-201
LOCATION: REFERENCE ROOM STACKS
CALL NUMBER: PN 94 .T83
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Project MUSE Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Research Library (ProQuest) Provides a mix of scholarly journals, trade publication and magazines. Over 6,600 titles are included, with over 5,000 in full-text.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Research Library LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/pqrl]
Scribner Writers Series Find concise essays and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.
Twayne Authors Series Provides literary criticism, analysis of the history and influence of literary movements

Off-Campus Access to Library Databases

To access indexes, databases, and electronic reserves from off campus, you will be asked to enter your User ID and PIN.

User ID is your W number (ex. w0123456).
PIN is your 6 digit birthdate (ex. 032181 for March 21, 1995). If you have any questions about the databases, please contact the Reference Department at 985-549-2027 or "Ask A Librarian".

Guides for Literary Criticism

Guides to the Literature

Literary Research Guide: an Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
--Reference Stacks-- Z 2011 .H34
A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students: English and American Literature
--Reference Stacks-- PR 56 .B34

Collections of Criticism

Contemporary Literary Criticism
--Reference Stacks-- PN 771 .C59 (184 vol.)
Major Characters in American Fiction
--Reference Stacks-- PS 374 .C43 M35
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature
--Reference Stacks-- PS 153 .N5 O96
The Oxford Companion to American Literature
--Reference Stacks-- PS 21 .H3

Short Story Criticism
--Reference Stacks-- PN 3373 .S386 (59 vol.)
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
--Reference Stacks-- PN 94 .T83 ( 145 vol.)