LibGuides: CSD 6870: Research Methods & Designs: Indexes & Databases

Indexes & Databases: JOURNAL LITERATURE

Students will use these Indexes and Databases, provided through Sims Library, to locate peer-reviewed journal articles.

Those Most Used By CSD Grad Students

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/nahd]
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free government database for all things medical.

Health Sciences Databases

Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window Indexes and provides full-text coverage of more than 180 international journals, reports, proceedings, newsletters, pamphlets, and special report from complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes over 30 peer-reviewed publications.
Drug Information Portal This link opens in a new window Quick access to quality drug information from the National Library of Medicine.
Provides information on over 45,000 prescription and non-prescription drugs including dietary supplements and some investigational medicines. It covers drugs from clinical trials to U.S. FDA approval and also includes some drugs from other countries.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Includes full text of 6 evidence-based healthcare databases: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, The Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window Communication Abstracts covers major journals is communication studies, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes, abstracts and provides acesss to selected full-text articles from the Mass Media Articles Index(MMAI) produced by Penn State University and CommSearch, produced by the National Communication Association (NCA).
This database is a combination of two communication indexes, the Mass Media Articles Index (MMAI) produced by Penn State University and CommSearch, produced by the National Communication Association (NCA). Communication and Mass Media Complete will index more than 385 journals with full text access to articles in 160 journals.
Emerald Health & Social Care eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Indexes, abstracts and provides some full text of articles from international journals in subjects including intellectual/learning disabilities, mental health, criminology and forensic practice, working with vulnerable groups and management of services.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Covers medical disciplines and information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements. Contains 650 full text journals and abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide
Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window Includes Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) with full text of many articles.
Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/nahd]
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free government database for all things medical.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Select: Speech Therapy / Audiology Resources

Psychology Databases

Psychology & Behavorial Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles on topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is also indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Education Databases

Education Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text journal articles from hundreds of education journals. Includes Education Database and ERIC, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Education Database LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/educationdatabase]
ERIC This link opens in a new window Database: via EBSCOhost; Accessible with a UNMC NetID. "ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index."
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a mix of scholarly journals, trade publication and magazines. Over 6,600 titles are included, with over 5,000 in full-text.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Research Library LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/pqrl]

Log-in In from Off-campus

To access indexes, databases, and electronic reserves from off campus, you will be required to enter your User ID and PIN. The User ID will be your W number (ex. w0123456). The PIN will be your 6 digit birthdate (ex. 032181 for March 21, 1981). If you have any questions about the databases, please contact the Reference Department at 985-549-2027 or "Ask A Librarian".