Graduate Research: Note-Taking and Organization

What is Reference Management app?

Citation management software also called “bibliographic software” or "Reference Management apps" allow you to organize, store, and retrieve information, such as citations for books, articles, and Web sites. You can simultaneously import records and PDFs from databases. You can add abstracts, keywords and other functions that enhance and improve the efficiency of your project. The citation manager then works with word-processing software to insert properly formatted footnotes or citations into a paper and create a bibliography.

What it won't do:

It will not always create a perfect bibliography or reference list according to your favorite style. For example, you will still have to know APA, MLA, Chicago or Turabian and check over your results. It will not correct errors or omissions that were in the database from which you retrieved references. It will not always know what type of material you are putting into it from a database (e.g., it cannot always distinguish a proceeding from a book).

What are online citation builders?

These are free, online sites that allow you to quickly create citations and bibliographies but not to store information or link to word-processing software.  Please check out the list of online citation builders below.

How do I know which tool to use?

No one tool will fit all your needs perfectly. So, it is best to try multiple options. Online citation builders are helpful when you are in a rush and have a small number of sources to manage. Citation software is more time consuming but extremely useful for handling larger. More complex citations and for its word processing compatibility. There are a variety of citation software tools available, and each has its strengths.