Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Video & DVDs from Sims Library

Video Collections on the web

Many Internet sites provide free access to streaming videos. The following list of sites may host content or merely point to content hosted elsewhere. Some sites will include advertising.

Disclaimer:  Sims Library is not responsible for any of the content linked from these sites.  We cannot guarantee availability of the content they provide, nor assume responsibility for the functionality of these sites.

American Experience (PBS)

The American Indian Film Gallery (AIFG) - Films by and about Native peoples, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald and hosted by the University of Arizona

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) - Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States

American Rhetoric - Videos of famous and historical speeches

Annenberg Learner  - Teacher resources for all disciplines

AP and British Movietone on YouTube - Newsreel archive

Archive of American Television - From the Television Academy Foundation

C-SPAN - A project of the American Cable Television Industry

Civil Rights Digital Library - From the Digital Library of Georgia

Disabled World Video Clips on Disability and Health

Evia Digital Archive - Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis

Folkstreams.net - A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies - From Yale University Library

Frontline - From PBS

HippoCampus - Educational resouces for middle school through college

A History of the World - From the British Museum and BBC

IMF Videos -  International Monedtary Fund

Internet Archive Moving Image Archive

IMDB - Internet Movie Database Full Length Movies

LearnersTV - Free Education Online

Metropolitan Museum of Art Connections  - Personal perspectives of MMA staff on works of art

The Mike Wallace Interviews - Video collection of interviews by Mike Wallace from 1957 and 1958, hosted by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas.

Moving Image Research Collection (MIRC) - From University of South Carolina Research Collections

NOVA - Full length programs from the PBS science series produced by WGBH Boston.

PBS Learning Media

Plunkett Research - Industry overviews

POV - Documentaries with a point of view, produced by American Documetary and hosted by PBS

ScienceCinema - Research from the U. S. Department of Energy

Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive - Universityof Virginia public policy and American presidency videos

Stanford Health Video Library - Highlighting the latest in health research

Ted Talks - Technology, Enertainment, Design videos

Thanhouser FIlms - From Thanhouser Company Film Preservation, Inc.

TV News Archive -  News clips from 2009 to yesterday