LibGuides: GBIO 441: Indexes & Databases

Databases for Biology

Agricola-- Indexes and abstracts books, papers and journal articles in agriculture and allied disciplines.

Biological Abstracts-- Indexes and abstracts life science literature; provides some links to full-text articles.

BioOne-- Provides full text of 81 peer-reviewed journals and bulletins. Additional publishers and journals will be added over time to eventually include over 200 titles.

Environment Index-- Indexes and abstracts national and international journals and monographs related to environmental sciences going as far back as the 1940s.

JSTOR -- Includes full-text of scholarly journals in the fields of ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, political science and population studies. Southeastern users have access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V and Complement Collections and JSTOR Biology Collection.

MEDLINE-- Indexes scholarly journals covering all areas of medicine and health sciences (including nursing, allied health and nutrition). Provides links to small selection of full-text articles.

PubMed -- Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to free full-text from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.

Web of Science-- Consists of three databases, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and indexes and provides abstracts for more recent articles.

Zoological Record-- Indexes and abstracts international professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of zoology.

Academic Search Complete-- Indexes, abstracts and provides selected full-text of articles published in scholarly publications from many disciplines.

Dissertations and Theses-- Indexes all doctoral dissertations completed at U. S. accredited institutions since 1861. Provides abstracts of doctoral dissertations since 1981. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Provides 24-page previews of recent dissertations.

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar: from our on-campus networked computers, links will appear in the Google Scholar results for open-access articles or for aritcles that Southeastner's library licenses. If you do not see a link, check using Publications Finder under eJournals as the links are not always provided.

Log-in In from Off-campus

To access indexes, databases, and electronic reserves from off campus, you will be required to enter your User ID and PIN. The User ID will be your W number (ex. w0123456). The PIN will be your 6 digit birthdate (ex. 032181 for March 21, 1981). If you have any questions about the databases, please contact the Reference Department at 985-549-2027 or "Ask A Librarian".