National Sources
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality - The AHRQ is dedicated to making healthcare safer, higher quality, accessible, affordable, and equitable. Their website contains US healthcare data, including state snapshots.
EJScreen - This mapping tool from the EPA allows you to enter a specific city and receive reports with demographic, health, and environmental data. It may take a few minutes to load as it generates the map. Note that the scope of information varies depending on the type. Most is available at the state and national level.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report - Centers for Disease Control website with weekly compilation of state reported disease and mortality statistics.
National Center for Health Statistics - Government website is premier source for national health statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (through 2012) or Reference Room U.S. Documents Stacks - C 3.134:year - This annual publication gathers statistics in various subject areas. Note that the scope of the information varies. Most is available at the national level.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (2013-present) or Reference Room U.S. Documents Stacks - HA 202.P 76 - Same as above, but published via ProQuest instead of the Census Bureau. This version is searchable by keyword as well as browsable by Subject. Note that if you are accessing this source off campus, you will need to log in with your W# and library pin (6 digit birthdate).
Annual Infectious Disease Surveillance Reports - These reports from the Louisiana Department of Health offer information and statistics on various diseases, such as HIV/AIDs, E-coli, and rotavirus. The data is available at the state level.
County Health Rankings, Louisiana or 4th Floor Louisiana Documents Stacks - H 1.2:CHR/year - This resource provides various statistics related to health, such as obesity, teen births, and doctor-to-patient ratios. It also includes social-economic factors and environmental factors. Most data is provided at the parish and state level.
Current Vital Event Data (State Center for Health Statistics) - This resource supplies statistical data on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces. Note that the coverage and currency of the statistics vary, but most are available at the state and parish level.
Department of Health and Hospitals, State Center for Health Statistics - Louisiana state website for health and vital statistics.
DHH Data Portal - This resource provides information regarding Health, Environment, and Population that the Department of Health tracks. Descriptions of different topics covered can be found to the left under What We Track. Explore Data uses the DHH Data Portal.
Louisiana.gov - This official website of the Louisiana government acts as a central hub for information. Some information provided include links to government agency webpages and statistical information by parish. In the left hand corner, local government information can be found via Local Louisiana.
Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services - This official webpage provides descriptions of programs to help children and families, such as SNAP and foster care, as well as statistical information (under Newsroom). Note that the coverage and currency of the statistics vary, but most are available at the state and parish level.
Louisiana Health Report Card - This resource collects health information for the state of Louisiana in various categories, including major diseases, birth weights, and drug addictions. Statistical data is also included in the appendices. The chapters generally provide information at the state and national level. The statistical data, which includes information such as top causes of death, can provide information at the parish level.
Louisiana Parish Health Units - This online resource provides directory information for parish health units. In addition to contact information, the directory lists which services are provided at the parish health units. Note that there may be multiple parish health units near a particular location.
Office of Behavioral Health (DHH) - This webpage provides information relating to behavioral health in Louisiana, including mental health and addiction. Note that offices are located via region rather than parish.
Reducing Childhood Obesity in Louisiana - This program from the Pennington Biomedical Center is aimed at reducing child obesity in Louisiana. Information in the executive report includes sources of data. Shorter, more focused reports are also provided.