Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Philosophy

LibGuide to Philosophy resources at Sims Memorial Library.

Philosophy

This guide presents selected resources for Philosopy which are available in or through the Southeastern Louisiana University Sims Library.

 

Handbooks (Companions)

Cambridge Companion to Ockham
-- Reference Stacks-- B 765 .O34 C36 1999
The Oxford Companion to the Mind
--4th floor Stacks-- BF 31 .O94; also available
online

Top Ten Resources for Philosophy

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy

 --Reference Stacks --B41.E5 (8 vol.)


Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy 

--Reference Stacks --B 51 .R68 (10 vol.)


The Oxford Companion to the Mind

--4th floor Stacks-- BF 31 .O94; also available online


The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy

--4th Floor Book Stacks --B 41 .C35


Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas

--Reference Room Stacks--CB5 .D52 (5 vol.)


English Server Philosophy E-Texts -- The EServer, founded in 1990, is now based at Iowa State University. It has many major philosophy texts online.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy -- The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy was founded in 1995 for the purpose of providing detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. It is housed at the University of Tennessee-Martin.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy -- The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work and is a publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University.

Noesis -- Noesis is a limited area search engine for open access, academic philosophy on the Internet.

Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy -- The Society for the Advencement of American Philosohy exists to advance American philosophy by promoting interest and research in its history, encouraging original and creative work in its spirit, and providing forums for the exchange of information and ideas.

PhilPapers -- PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies. Some features require that you sign in first, but creating an account is easy and free.

 


Need Help?

Ask a Librarian

Style Manuals

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
--Ready Reference-- LB 2369 .G53 2009

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
--Ready Reference-- LB 2369 .T8