Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Uncle Sam's Hidden Treasures (for kids of all ages)

U.S. government resources designed for young people and teachers.

Websites

Websites

American Memory - Browse or search digital collections of primary materials from the Library of Congress

HathiTrust Digital Library - A partnership of academic and research institutions offering a large collection of digitized materials

Science.gov - A search engine for locating science materials

USA.gov - The U.S. government's official web portal

Classroom Resources

Classroom Resources

Classroom Resources (National Science Foundation) - Provides lessons and web resources in various sciences

EDSITEment Student Resources (National Endowment for the Humanities) - Provides activities and lesson plans focused around various humanities (art, literature, foreign language, history)

Education Resources (U.S. Geological Survey) - Provides access to lessons, activities, and interactives for spanning many grade levels

Government for Teachers (Kids.usa.gov) - A list of resources for teachers in various subjects

Lesson Plans and Activities (U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services) - Provides access to lesson plans and activities targeted to English as Second Language (ESL)

Resources for Teachers (National Gallery of Art) - Provides access to lessons, activities, and interactives for art

Teacher Resources (Library of Congress) - Provides access to lessons, activities, and sources covering various topics and tools

Teachers (Department of Education) - List of resources for teachers covering various topics for improving education

What Works Clearinghouse (Institute of Education Sciences) - Research and advice about best practices in the classroom

Statistics

Statistics

American Factfinder - Main distribution point for Census statistics, including data about people, housing, and business

Digest of Education Statistics - Statistics about primary, secondary, and post-secondary educational institutions