Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Disease and Epidemiology Information Sources (State and Federal)

Publications and websites from the U.S. and Louisiana governments that deal with diseases and epidemiology.

US Statistics and Reports

Advance Data from Vital and Health Statistics (later title National Health Statistics Reports) or HE 20.6209/3:no -- This publication from the National Center for Health Statistics contains data related to health statistics published between 1976 and 2008. Since 2008, the publication has been retitled as National Health Statistics Reports. 

Atlas of United States Mortality or HE 20.6209/12:1 (1997) [CD-ROM] -- This source covers 18 primary causes of death from 1988-1992. More recent information in these areas can be found in Health United States.

Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases (the Pink Book) -- This source from the National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (Center for Disease Control and Prevention) provides in depth information regarding vaccines.

Genomics and Population Health -- These two reports (2003, 2005) from the Office of Genomics and Disease Prevention provide detailed information regarding genomics and population health.  More recent information and publications from the same office can be found here.

Health United States or HE 20.7042/6:yrs [most recent in Reference Room U.S. Documents Stacks] -- This annual report from the National Center for Health Statistics covers many trends and populations.

Healthy People 2000: National Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Objectives or HE 20.2:D 63/8/report -- This initial strategy from the Department of Health and Human Services examines 319 unduplicated objectives in 22 priority areas related to improving health in the United States.

Healthy People 2010 or HE 20.2:P 93/3/Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 -- This agenda from the Department of Health and Human Services examines 467 objectives in 28 priority areas related to improving health in the United States.

Healthy People 2020 -- This current program from the Department of Health and Human Services examines 1,200 objectives in 42topic areas related to improving health in the United States. More information about the program can be found here.

HIV Surveillance Report (formerly HIV/AIDS Surveillance Report) -- These reports from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention contain various types of statistical information regarding HIV/AIDS.

Linked Birth/Infant Death Data Set or HE 20.6209/4-7:20/no [CD-ROM] -- These statistics from the National Vital Statistics System examines infant death and risk factors.

Mental Health, United States or HE 20.8137:yr -- These reports from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration offer in depth information on mental health. More recent information and data from the same administration can be found here.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) or Docs. Film 1390 [microfilm] -- This weekly publication from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provides timely, though provisional, data. More information about the series can be found here.

National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey or HE 20.6209/4-5:13/no [CD-ROM] -- This survey from the National Center for Health Statistics focuses on ambulatory services in hospital emergency and outpatient departments and ambulatory surgery locations.

National Health Interview Survey or HE 20.6209/4-3:10/no [CD-ROM] -- This survey from the National Center for Health Statistics covers many health topics with data from personal household interviews.

National Health Statistics Reports (earlier title Advance Data from Vital and Health Statistics) -- This publication from the National Center for Health Statistics contains data related to health statistics published from 2008 to present.

National Report on Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals -- This report from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention offers data on human exposure to various chemicals, including pesticides.

Progress Report on Alzheimer’s Disease -- These reports from the National Institute on Aging offer in depth information regarding Alzheimer's Disease. This link provides Archived versions from 1996 to 2011-2012. For help locating earlier or later years, please contact me. Note that the last progress report was published 2014-2015.

SEER Cancer Statistics Review (earlier title Annual Cancer Statistics Review) or HE 20.3186:yrs [some microfiche, some paper] -- This program from the National Cancer Institute offers statistics regarding cancer. Archived information from 1975-2007 can be found here.

Sexually Transmitted Disease Surveillance or HE 20.7309/2:yr [microfiche] -- This resource from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention offers statistics on various STDs.

Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878 - 2012 (Census Bureau) or 2013-Present (ProQuest) or C 3.134:yr -- This annual publication has statistics on various topics. Note that to access the one from ProQuest off campus, you will need to login with your W# and pin number (6 digit-birthday).

Vital and Health Statistics Series or HE 20.6209:series/no -- This series from the National Center for Health Statistics provides information from numerous statistical programs.

Vital Statistics of the U.S. or HA 203 .A22 -- HE 20.6210:yr/vol [some paper, some CD-ROM] -- This series provides various statistics in the United States from 1890 to 2003.

Work-Related Lung Disease Surveillance System -- This resource from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health provides data related to work-related respiratory and lung disease.