LibGuides: GBIO 441: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Warren T. Reich (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Stacks -- QH 332 .E52 1995
Encyclopedia of Ecology by S. E. Jorgensen
Call Number: online - ebook
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Genetics by Bryan D. Ness (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Reference Stacks -- QH427 .E53 2004 2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by J. Battista
Call Number: Ready Reference -- QH302.5 .E54 2010 32 vols.
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology by Thomas E. Creighton
Call Number: Reference Stacks-- QH 506 .E53 1999 4 vols.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by Simon A. Levin (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Stacks QH 541.15 .B56 B53 5 vols.
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Mark D. Pagel (Editor)
Call Number: Reference -- QH360.2 .O83 2002 2 vols. and online

Dictionaries

The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by Larry L. Mai
Call Number: Reference QP34.5 .M24 2005 and online
Dictionary of Biology by Bill Indge
Call Number: 4th Floor QH 302.5 .I534 1999
Dictionary of Biology by Tirri, Lehtonen, Lemmetyinen, Pihakaski,Portin
Call Number: Reference QH302.5 .E47 1998
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by J. M. Lackie (Editor)
Call Number: Reference QH575 .D55 2007
The Facts on File Dictionary of Biology by Robert Hine (Editor)
Call Number: Reference QH 302.5 .F38 1999
Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms by Eleanor Lawrence
Call Number: Reference QH 302.5 .H65 1995
The Hutchinson pocket dictionary of biology by ebrary, Inc
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Richard Cammack (Editor); Teresa K. Attwood; Peter Campbell; Howard Parish; Anthony Smith; John Stirling; Frank Vella
Call Number: QP512 .O94 2006 -- 1st Floor
Publication Date: 2006

Thinking about Biology by Stephen Webster
Thinking About Biology is intended for biology students who are interested in reflecting on the wider contexts of their studies. The book encourages students to see that biology does not deliver certainties; it discusses how biological ideas become established facts; it uses history to examine how ideas change, and to show that the biological facts that form the basis of a biology course are likely to change too. Each chapter is based on biological topics, and examines them for their philosophical, social and political implications. Topics covered include the role of natural selection in evolution, the history of ideas about fertilisation and inheritance, vivisection, and reductionism. Genetically modified foods, xenotransplantation, eugenics, and genetic testing are some of the controversial subjects discussed.