The following resources, compiled by Dr. Samuel C. Hyde, Director of the Center for Southeast Louisiana Studies, are available either in Sims Memorial Library or online via netLibrary. Other items are located in the Center for Southeast Louisiana Studies, Southeastern Louisiana University which is located in the Rayburn Room of Sims Memorial Library. Please contact the Center for Southeast Louisiana Studies for information concerning the use of resources located in the Rayburn Room.
Colonial Period
Secondary Sources
The Canary Islanders of Louisiana
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 380 .C22 D56
The Economy of British West Florida
--Rayburn Room-- HC 107 .A13 F32
La Salle and His Legacy: Frenchmen and Indians in the Lower Mississippi Valley
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 352 .L3
Africans in the Formation of American Culture:The Louisiana Experience
--not listed in library catalog-- Ask in the Rayburn Room
The Historic Indian Tribes of Louisiana: From 1542 to the Present
--Rayburn Room-- E 78 .L8 K59
Primary Sources
Iberville's Gulf Journals
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 372 .L538; also available online
Louisiana and West Florida Map Collections
--not in library catalog-- Ask in the Rayburn Room
John Houeye Collection (Spanish West Florida)
--not in library catalog-- Ask in the Rayburn Room
Antebellum Louisiana
Secondary Sources
The Story of the West Florida Revolt
--not in library catalog-- Ask in the Rayburn Room
Twelve Years a Slave
--4th Floor Stacks-- E 444 .N87 1975; also available in the Rayburn Room
History of Agriculture in the Southern United States
--Rayburn Room-- S 445 .G8 1933
Pistols and Politics: The Dilemma of Democracy in Louisiana's Florida Parishes, 1810-1899
--Rayburn Room-- F 377.F6 H94 1996; also available online
New Orleans and the Railroads: The Struggle for Commercial Empire, 1830-1860
--4th Floor Stacks-- 380.0976 R325N
Origins of the Class Struggle in Louisiana
--4th Floor Stacks-- 309.1763 .S5620; also available in the Rayburn Room-- F 374 .S58
Primary Sources
Official Letter Books of W. C. C. Claiborne, 1801-1816
--not in library catalog-- Ask in the Rayburn Room
Celine: Remembering Louisiana, 1850-1871
--Rayburn Room-- E 605 .G26
Carter Plantation Collection
--not in library catalog-- Ask in the Rayburn Room
Civil War and Reconstruction
Secondary Sources
When the Devil Came Down to Dixie
--4th Floor Stacks-- E 467.1 .B87 H43; also available online
The Louisiana Native Guards: The Black Military Experience During the Civil War
--4th Floor Stacks-- E 540 .N3 H65; also available online
Lee's Tigers: The Louisiana Infantry in the Army of Northern Virginia
--not in library catalog-- Ask in Rayburn Room
Louisiana Reconstructed, 1863-1877
--not in library catalog-- Ask in the Rayburn Room
Crucible of Reconstruction: War, Radicalism, and Race in Louisiana 1861-1877
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 375 .T86
The Civil War in Louisiana
--4th Floor Stacks-- E 565 .C58 2002
Primary Sources
TThe Civil War Diary of Sarah Morgan (Charles East, editor)
--Rayburn Room-- E 605 .D28 1991
Guide to Civil War Sources in the Southeastern Louisiana University Archives
--4th Floor Stacks-- E 462 .H36 1997
War, Politics, and Reconstruction: Stormy Days in Louisiana
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 375 .W27; also available in the Rayburn Room
Gilded Age and Early Twentieth Century
Secondary Sources
Rising Tide: The Great Mississippi Flood of 1927 and How it Changed America
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 354 .B47 1997
Politics and Punishment: A History of the Louisiana State Penal System
--4th Floor Stacks-- HV 9475 .L2 C35
Bourbonism and Agrarian Protest: Louisiana Politics, 1877-1900
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 375 .H16 1969; also available in the Rayburn Room
New Orleans in the Gilded Age: Politics and Urban Progress, 1880-1896
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 379 .N557 J3; also available in the Rayburn Room
Huey Long
--4th Floor Stacks-- E 748 .L86 W48
Primary Sources
These items are not listed in the library catalog--Ask in the Rayburn Room
Alexander Bartus Collection (Livingston Parish, LA)
Velamarae Dunn Collection (Tangipahoa Parish, LA)
Edna Campbell Collection (Hammond, LA)
Daunton Gibbs Collection (Washington Parish, LA)
St. Tammany Parish Newspaper Collection
Modern Louisiana
Secondary Sources
Political Tendencies in Louisiana
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 369 .H85
Louisiana Hayride: The American Rehearsal for Dictatorship, 1928-1940
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 375 .K16
Earl K. Long: The Saga of Uncle Earl and Louisiana Politics
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 376.3 .L67 k87
The Last Hayride
--4th Floor Stacks-- F 376 .M34
Louisiana During World War II: Politics and Society, 1939-1945
--4th Floor Stacks-- D 769.85 .L6 S26; also available online
Primary Sources
These items are not listed in the library catalog--Ask in the Rayburn Room
Judge Leon Ford Collection (Tangipahoa and St. Helena Parishes, LA)
Hebert Collection (Bogalusa, La.)
Zuma Magee Collection (Washington Parish, LA)
Congressman James H. Morrison Collection
Congressman John R. Rarick Collection
