LibGuides: Hist 497: Undergraduate Seminar in Major Problems in American History: Find Books

Search the Catalog

Find books, ebooks, media, and more

You should always start your search for books with the Sims Library Catalog, if you don't find what you need, then move on to other options:

Use the Advanced Search to find an item using a combination of elements.

LOUIS Reciprocal Borrowing

Southeastern Louisiana University students, faculty and staff, who are in good standing, may request a LOUIS Reciprocal Borrowing Card that will be honored at participating Louisiana academic libraries. For more information, visit LOUIS Resource Sharing.

To apply for a LOUIS card, please visit the Circulation Desk or mail/email LOUIS application to:

Circulation Services
Sims Memorial Library
SLU 10896
Hammond, LA 70402
(985) 549-3968
libcirc@southeastern.edu

Digital Book Collections

Books at JSTOR
Books at JSTOR contains over 32,000 ebooks, published prior to 2016, from 42 publishers. Collection is strong in the humanities and social sciences, with some science content. JSTOR ebook chapters are DRM (Digital Rights Management) free, and allow for multiple simultaneous use, PDF downloads, and printing. These books are also in the Sims Library catalog.
Books on Project Muse
UPCC (University Press Content Consortium) Book Collections on Project MUSE offer electronic books covering a variety of subjects in the humanities and social sciences from noted university presses and scholarly publishers. Ebook titles published from 2012 to present are available to Southeastern users. Books are peer-reviewed and fully searchable.
Google Books
"Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books"
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. While Southeastern is not a participtating institution, guests still have access to many full-text volumes.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
The Online Books Page
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.
Project Gutenberg
"Project Gutenberg offers over 59,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired."
WorldCat
Lists books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.

Interlibrary Loan

When you find an article listed in a database, and the article is not available in full text, use the Borrow from another Library button to log into our ILL service (called ILLiad) and we'll get the item from another library that does have it.

Articles (pdf files/photocopies) can take anywhere from 24 hours to a few days to obtain.
Books, conference proceedings and other documents are also available for request and can be picked up at the Library.

First-time users should go here and read about the service. Then, at the bottom of the page, click on the First Time Users Click Here button to create an account.

This handy guide will tell you all about our Interlibrary Loan Service, including how books and articles are handled; how to renew an item you've received; and what to do if you've forgotten your user name or password.