Students will use these Indexes and Databases, provided through Sims Library, to locate peer-reviewed journal articles.
Academic Search Complete-- Indexes, abstracts and provides selected full-text of articles published in scholarly publications from many disciplines.
America History and Life -- Indexes and abstracts articles from scholarly journals, book reviews and dissertations covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes links to full-text articles in JSTOR, Project Muse and the History Cooperative.
America's Historical Newspapers -- Provides full-text of African American newspapers and selected historical newspapers from Louisiana, including the Times-Picayune (1837-1936).
Bayou State Periodical Index -- Indexes articles in popular Louisiana magazines and newsletters.
Dissertations and Theses -- Indexes all doctoral dissertations completed at U. S. accredited institutions since 1861. Provides abstracts of doctoral dissertations since 1981. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Provides 24-page previews of recent dissertations.
Google Scholar -- searches for articles that are available freely and through subscription databases; we provide links when using networked computers.
Historical Abstracts -- Indexes and abstracts journals, books, and dissertations covering modern world history from 1450 to the present. Links are available to the full-text articles in JSTOR, Project Muse and the History Cooperative.
History Reference Center -- Provides full-text of reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, history magazines, historical documents,biographies of historical figures, historical photos, maps, and historical video.
JSTOR-- Provides e-books and full-text of scholarly journals in the fields of ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, political science and population studies. Southeastern users have access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V and Compliment Collections and JSTOR Biology Collection
Louisiana Digital Library -- Provides collections of images from Louisiana libraries, archives, museums and cultural institutions.
Project Muse-- Provides e-books and full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
WorldCat --Lists books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
