LibGuides: COUN 600: Research Methods & Designs: Indexes & Databases

Indexes & Databases

These Indexes and Databases can be found in Sims Library to locate peer-reviewed journal articles.

Note there are four subdivisions:

1.) Counseling, Psychology & Social Work Databases;

2.) Education Databases;

3.) Allied Health & Health Sciences Databases;

4.) Multidisciplinary Databases

Counseling, Psychology, Social Work Databases

Emerald Health & Social Care eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Indexes, abstracts and provides some full text of articles from international journals in subjects including intellectual/learning disabilities, mental health, criminology and forensic practice, working with vulnerable groups and management of services.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive, full-text guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present. MMY via EBSCOhost® now includes the MMY Archive providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938, through the 18th yearbook released in 2010.
Sims Memorial Library also owns the following corresponding print editions:

TITLE: The Mental Measurements Yearbook
LOCATION: REFERENCE ROOM
CALL NUMBER: LB 1131 .B87 M4
LIBRARY HAS: 1st ed.(1938)-17th ed.(2007)

TITLE: Tests in Print III, IV, V, VI
LOCATION: REFERENCE ROOM
CALL NUMBER: LB 1131 .B87 T4
LIBRARY HAS: III (1983), IV (1994), V (1999), VI (2006)
Psychology & Behavorial Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles on topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is also indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers the core social work and human services literature, providing indexing and abstracts for >450 journals. The database is updated rather slowly - use SocIndex with Full Text for the most current research.
Sims Memorial Library also owns the following corresponding print indexes:

TITLE: Abstracts for Social Workers
LOCATION: 2ND FLOOR SERIALS MICROFILM CABINETS
CALL NUMBER: Film 549
LIBRARY HAS: v.1(1965)-v.5(1969)
LOCATION: 3RD FLOOR BOUND SERIALS
CALL NUMBER: HV 1 .A2
LIBRARY HAS: v.6(1970)-v.12(1976/1977)

Education Databases

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Contains abstracting and indexing coverage for over 475 periodicals included in Education Index as well as full text for over 150 periodicals.
A list of periodicals indexed, abstracted and included in full text format in this database can be found in the Education Full Text Database Coverage List.

Sims Library also owns the following corresponding print index:

TITLE: Education Index
LOCATION: Reference Room
CALL NUMBER: AI Z 3.E4
LIBRARY HAS: 1929-1998
Education Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text journal articles from hundreds of education journals. Includes Education Database and ERIC, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Education Database LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/educationdatabase]
ERIC This link opens in a new window Database: via EBSCOhost; Accessible with a UNMC NetID. "ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index."
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

Allied Health and Health Sciences Databases

Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window Indexes and provides full-text coverage of more than 180 international journals, reports, proceedings, newsletters, pamphlets, and special report from complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes over 30 peer-reviewed publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Covers medical disciplines and information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements. Contains 650 full text journals and abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide
Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/nahd]
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free government database for all things medical.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a mix of scholarly journals, trade publication and magazines. Over 6,600 titles are included, with over 5,000 in full-text.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Research Library LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/pqrl]

Log-in In from Off-campus

To access indexes, databases, and electronic reserves from off campus, you will be required to enter your User ID and PIN. The User ID will be your W number (ex. w0123456). The PIN will be your 6 digit birthdate (ex. 032181 for March 21, 1981). If you have any questions about the databases, please contact the Reference Department at 985-549-2027 or "Ask A Librarian".