LibGuides: Hist 497: Undergraduate Seminar in Major Problems in American History: Find Articles

Search Scholarly Publications

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-text database of early American newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1922. Includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune (1837-1922); African American Newspapers (1827-1998) and Selected Historical Newspapers from Louisiana (1805-1936).
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) and Selected Historical Newspapers from Louisiana (1805-1936); includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune for selected dates.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the history of the United States and Canada. Included are references to articles taken from 2,000 scholarly journals as well as book reviews and dissertations.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window Provides digital images of pages and articles. The entire collection includes fifty smaller thematic databases which have been grouped into nine collections: Agriculture, Applied Science & Technology, Art, Business, Education, History, Music, Religion, and Women’s Studies.
Bayou State Periodical Index This link opens in a new window Indexes articles in popular Louisiana magazines and newsletters.
Sims Memorial Library also owns the following corresponding print indexes:
TITLE: Bayou State Periodical Index
LOCATION: REFERENCE ROOM
CALL NUMBER: F 366 .B3
LIBRARY HAS: 1985-1998

LOCATION: 4th FLOOR LOUISIANA DOCUMENTS STACKS
CALL NUMBER: ES 160.10:Pe
LIBRARY HAS: 1985, 1987-1996
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Offers more than 1.7 million full-text dissertations in the humanities, social sciences, technology and more. Full-text available.
Additional information on the database content and searching can be found on the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses LibGuide [Link to http://proquest.libguides.com/pqdt]
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. It provides indexing to more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides a mix of scholarly journals, trade publication and magazines. Over 6,600 titles are included, with over 5,000 in full-text.
Search tips and a Thesaurus are available at the top of the search page or at the ProQuest Research Library LibGuide
[Link to: http://proquest.libguides.com/pqrl]

History & Political Science Databases
You can select a Subject from the list to see all the databases we subscribe to that contain publications in that particular subject area. Or you can choose database from the alphabetical list by name.

You can browse journal and periodical holdings using the Subject Lists, or use the widget below to search for a particular publication title and which of our databases contain its articles.

Off-Campus Access

To access indexes, databases, and electronic reserves from off campus, you will be required to enter your User ID and PIN. The User ID will be your W number (ex. w0123456). The PIN will be your 6 digit birthdate (ex. 032181 for March 21, 1981). If you have any questions about the databases, please contact the Reference Department at 985-549-2027 or "Ask A Librarian".

Google Scholar

ON CAMPUS: You can search Google Scholar and get links to full-text articles that Southeastern subscribes to in many of our databases. Just enter your search terms in the box below:

OFF CAMPUS: You can get the same results using Google Scholar by doing the following:

Click on this link to VMware Horizon.
Click on option: VMware Horizon HTML Access, or download the VMware Horizon Client.
Log in using your W# and password, as you would for any computer on campus.
Once it loads you'll see a screen as you would on campus. Open up your preferred browser and go to Google Scholar to begin searching as if you were on campus.

Interlibrary Loan

When you find an article listed in a database, and the article is not available in full text, use the Borrow from another Library button to log into our ILL service (called ILLiad) and we'll get the item from another library that does have it.

Articles (pdf files/photocopies) can take anywhere from 24 hours to a few days to obtain.
Books, conference proceedings and other documents are also available for request and can be picked up at the Library.

First-time users should go here and read about the service. Then, at the bottom of the page, click on the First Time Users Click Here button to create an account.

This handy guide will tell you all about our Interlibrary Loan Service, including how books and articles are handled; how to renew an item you've received; and what to do if you've forgotten your user name or password.

Get Help with Research

Get the help you need using any of the following means:

Chat with a librarian 24/7

Our chat service will connect you with a professional librarian any time of the day or night. You can also reach our chat service by texting us at 985-222-2377

Email Us

Use this form to email us with a quick question or request. We usually respond within 24 hours (unless we're closed, like Saturdays or holidays).

Research Consultation Service

Fill out this form to set up a research consultation appointment for an in-depth one-on-one discussion about your research topic with one of our librarians.

Call or Visit

We still answer your questions the old fashioned ways during our regular hours:

Give us a call: (985) 549-2027
Stop by the Reference Desk on the first floor of the library