LibGuides: Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) and Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) programs: NURS 806- Health Informatics

Health Informatics Resources

This page contains resources for Nurs 806 students (Health Informatics) seeking additional information related to this topic.

The books and ebooks listed here are freely available through Sims Memorial Library, as are most of the journals listed.

If you know of an excellent association, website, journal or book that is not listed here, please leave a comment below so it can be added to the page.

Books & eBooks

Informatics and Nursing: Opportunities and Challenges by Jeanne Sewell
Call Number: 4th Floor StacksRT50.5 .T483 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse by Susan McBride; Mari Tietze
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016
Enabling Health Informatics Applications by J. Mantas; A. Hasman
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016
Mastering Healthcare Informatics
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge by Dee McGonigle; Kathleen Mastrian
Call Number: 4th Floor Stacks-- RT50.5 .N8693 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Integrating Information Technology and Management for Quality of Care by J. Mantas (Editor); M. S. Househ (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781614994220
Publication Date: 2015

Electronic Journals

Biomedical Informatics Insights
Covers all aspects of medical informatics and healthcare decision-making related to medical informatics. Full text available through Sims memorial library.
Canadian Journal of Nursing Informatics
Peer reviewed, online, quarterly journal which dedicated to competencies, theory, and practice of informatics. Full text available through Sims Memorial Library.
Computers Informatics Nursing
Dedicated to research, peer review, and professional activities related to nursing informatics. Current issues are not available though Sims Library.
Healthcare Informatics
Offers practical guidance and evaluations on information technology to help healthcare professionals improve efficiency in their organizations. Full text available through Sims Memorial Library.
IEEE Journal of Biomedical Informatics
Covers recent advances in the field of biomedical and health informatics and the intersection of healthcare, life sciences and biomedicine. Full text available through Sims Memorial Library.
International Journal of Medical Informatics
An international platform for the sharing of research, information, and issues relating to medical informatics. This journal is not currently available through Sims Library Subscriptions.
Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association (JAMIA)
Peer reviewed, current information to help health care professionals apply medical informatics to patient care, teaching, research, and health care administration.
Journal of Informatics Nursing.
The official publication of the American Nursing Informatics Association (ANIA). Offers continuing nursing education (CNE) activities and articles on topics impacting nurse informaticists. This journal is not currently available through Sims Library subscriptions.
On-line journal of nursing informatics
Supports all functional areas of nursing informatics. Full text available through Sims Memorial Library.

Websites

Alliance for Nursing Informatics
As stated on their website, this organization is dedicated to transforming health and healthcare through nursing informatics.
American Nursing Informatics Association
The ANIA's mission is to advance nursing informatics through education, research, and practice in all roles and settings.
Clinical Informatics News
Current events and news related to healthcare informatics.
The AMIA Nursing Informatics Workgroup
Part of the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA), this group works toward developing patient-center standards, research methodologies, communication strategies, and policies as they relate to healthcare informatics.
Healthcare Informatics Magazine
A resource for health informatics and technology policies, current events, trends, and issues impacting informatics and patient care. Topics covered include everything from electronic medical records to political implications for healthcare.
Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society
A global, cause-based, not-for-profit organization focused on better health through information technology (IT
Nursing Informatics Learning Center
Online Continuing Education for those interested in Nursing Informatics.