Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Business Information from the Government

Federal, International, and State/Local information resources from government agencies.

Federal Websites and Databases

Federal Websites and Databases

Bureau of International Labor Affairs - This website from the Bureau of International Labor Affairs (U.S. Department of Labor) features information and publications on labor issues, such as child labor.

Econsumer.gov - This website from the International Consumer Protection and Enforcement Network allows individuals to report international scams and offers information on preventing fraud.

Export.gov - This website from the International Trade Administration supplies information to help businesses expand into global markets.

Foreign Trade - This site from the Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau features statistics regarding imports and exports.

IIP Publications - This website features publications from the Bureau of International Information Programs (U.S. Department of State), including ones related to business.

International Economic Accounts - This website from the Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce) offers data in various areas relating to international business, including balance of payments and investments.

International Economic Trends - This online resource from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis features graphs of various economic indicators in several countries.

International Trade Commission - This site contains many publications from the U.S. International Trade Commission, which vary from annual reports to specific reports on certain countries and industries.

Small Business Administration, International Trade Resources - This web page from the Small Business Administration lists links to various resources on international trade divided by product type.

Travelers’ Health - This website from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention features health information related to traveling both national and international.

USA Trade Online - This database from the U.S. Census Bureau offers access to various types of data. This database requires creation of a free account.

Federal Publications

Federal Publications

Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets - These fact sheets from the Bureau of Public Affairs (U.S. Department of State) offer brief overviews of a country, its relationship to the United States, and other details.

Country Commercial Guides - These guides from the International Trade Administration (U.S. Department of Commerce) offer information in eight areas that affect the markets of various countries.

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices - These reports from the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (U.S. Department of State) cover human rights in various countries, including those related to workers.

Country Studies  - These electronic books offer in depth studies of various countries and are hosted by the Library of Congress. Note that the publication dates of these studies vary, so many may contain more historical than current information.

Foreign Labor Trends or 4th Floor U.S. documents stacks -- L 29.16 - These archived reports from the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (U.S. Department of State) feature examinations of labor in various countries. More recent reports from the same Bureau, though not only on Foreign Labor Trends, can be found here.

Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States or online or online - This source from the U.S. International Trade Commission helps determine tariffs on imported goods.

International Energy Outlook or 2nd floor (fiche) or 4th Floor U.S. documents stacks -- E 3.11/20-3: - This resource from U.S. Energy Information Administration assesses international energy markets.

International Statistics (up to 2012) or International Statistics (2013-present) -- The International Statistics section of the Statistical Abstract of the United States offers various statistics, some of which relate to business. Anyone can access the Statistical Abstracts published up to 2012 freely from the U.S. Census Bureau website. As of 2013, the U.S. Census Bureau no longer publishes the Statistical Abstract; it is instead published by ProQuest. While anyone can access the more recent versions on campus, off campus users must log in with their w# and library pin (6 digit birthday).

International Update - This monthly publication from the Social Security Administration provides information regarding retirement, pensions, and social security programs internationally.

Social Security Programs Throughout the World or 4th Floor U.S. documents stacks -- SSA 1.24/#: - This resource from the Social Security Administration provides information regarding retirement, pensions, and social security programs internationally. It is more in depth, but published less frequently, than the International Update.

The World Factbook or online or PREX 3.15: - This reference from the CIA offers profiles of countries in various areas, including the economy.

The Year in Trade: Operation of the Trade Agreements Program or online or ITC 1.24: - These reports from the U.S. International Trade Commission detail various trade agreement programs.

Need More?

Need More?

International Business LibGuide - This LibGuide, designed for Southeastern students, has more international business resources.