Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Government Webliography

An annotated list of government websites divided by topic.

US Sources-Law/Politics

Avalon Project- Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale Law School) -  Provides full text access to selected government documents and codes of law published from 4000 BCE to the 21st century.

Congress.govIncludes information on bills, congressional voting, committees, etc.  Allows keyword and bill number searching, and browsing by sponsor. Provides access to the Congressional Record, and to House and Senate committee reports.  Also provides links to the House and Senate web sites.

Free Sites for Legal Research (Villanova Law Library) - This extensive guide to legal resources on the web is produced by the Law Library at the Villanova University School of Law.

Project Vote Smart - Gives biographies, campaign finance information, issue positions, public statements, and voting records for the President, Congress, governors, and state legislators. The site is maintained by a non-profit organization.

U.S. Supreme Court (Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School) -  Includes information about cases back to May 1990, current cases, and court calendars. Provides an index of decisions by topic, author, or party.

U.S. Supreme Court (Official Site) - Coverage on this site begins with the October 1991 session. Provides access to information about cases, calendars, and justices.  Includes a good deal of historic information about the Court.