Health and Hospitals
America's Health Rankings - This organization offers state and national data for several health areas. You can search by state or browse by health topic. Data is available at state and national level.
Care Compare (Medicare.gov) - This official site features several searchable directories for medical personnel and services. Some examples include physicians, nursing homes, and hospitals. The data from this source will be at the local and state level.
Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity - This division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention features data tools to view information on nutrition, physical activity, and obesity in Louisiana, including the rates of child and adolescent obesity.
FastStats (NCHS) - This page from the National Center for Health Statistics provides links to statistics on various health topics, such as obesity and infant health. Of particular note is the State and Territorial Data, which lists birth and death data for each state. The coverage and currency of the data will vary depending on the topic.
Find Treatment (SAMHSA) - This official site features searchable directories for treatment centers for substance abuse and mental health. The data from this source will be at the local and state level.
Health United States or Reference Room U.S. Documents Stacks - HE 20.7042/6:year - This annual publication analyzes statistics related to health across the United States. The information in this resource yields national data.
Healthy People 2030 - This current program from the Department of Health and Human Services examines 355 measurable objectives, as well as developmental and research objectives, related to improving health in the United States.
Louisiana State and Local Level Referrals (FEMA) - This webpage lists state and local disaster recovery entities and their contact information. Areas covered include disability services, health care services, and more.
Medline Plus Directories - This webpage lists several different, searchable directories for physicians and health professionals of various type. Data coverage varies depending on which directory is used.
National Institute of Mental Health, Statistics - This webpage provides statistics in various areas regarding mental health, such as prevalence of particular disorders and costs. The data covers the national level.
National Vital Statistics System (NCHS) - This resource from the National Center for Health Statistics provides data on deaths and births. The data covers the national level.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Data - This portal provides access to statistical information regarding substance abuse and mental health services, including rates of use. Directories of substance abuse and mental health facilities are also available. The data coverage varies, but usually yields national and state level data.
WONDER (CDC) - This resource provides access to various health data from the CDC, including births, deaths, and diseases. The data coverage varies, but usually yields national and state level data.