Environment and Climate
AirData (EPA) - This resource is the primary hub for the Environmental Protection Agency's air data. While many statistics and maps are available directly, looking for raw data requires creating a free account to access the database. Note that data will vary in coverage, as monitoring sites are not in all cities.
Climate Data Online (NOAA) - This website links to several resources for accessing climate data. Some tools search via zip code or city, while others rely on maps.
Find a Station (NCEI) - The Climate Data tools (NOAA) sometimes require you to use the closest monitoring station, which isn't always in your specific city. This tool can help you locate the nearest station.
Disaster Declarations (FEMA) - This resource collects all of FEMA's disaster declarations in a central location. It can be further filtered by state, disaster type, and year. Note that areas affected within the state are usually given at the parish level, and each disaster has to be looked at individually.
Lower Mississippi-Gulf Water Science Center - This website features numerous statistics, maps, and other information regarding water in Louisiana. Topics include both groundwater, well water, flooding, and drought. Note that the data will vary in currency and coverage, as monitoring sites are not in all cities/parishes. Much of the information is at parish level.
EPA Region 6 (South Central) - This webpage provides regional information for Louisiana and other states in Region 6 from the EPA.
EPA In Louisiana - This webpage provides state level information about Louisiana from the EPA.
Envirofacts (EPA) - This searchable tool gathers environment and climate information on a particular city. The information is presented in categories including air quality, water quality, and climate. While the search is at the city level, some information may only be available at the parish and/or state level. The Topic Searches individually may be easier to navigate for certain details.
National Centers for Environmental Information - This website contains climate information such as temperature, precipitation, and storm events. Information is usually at national and state level, but some is available at the parish level.
National Weather Service (NOAA) - This website allows you to search for a location to see current weather. It also provides information on past weather and statistics, such as weather related fatalities. Note that the scope of the information varies.
Superfund Site Status Summaries (EPA) - This resource provides information regarding superfund sites; superfund sites are locations polluted with hazardous materials. From this page, you can look at all superfund sites in Louisiana, which are spread in various cities. Examples of superfund sites are landfills and bodies of water.
USGS Water-Quality Data for Louisiana - This resource acts as a portal for finding water quality data in Louisiana. It features current conditions and daily data, statistics, and field/lab samples. Note that data will vary in coverage, as monitoring sites are not in all cities. Much of the information is available at the parish level.
USGS Water Resources Fact Sheets (Parish) - These fact sheets from the USGS offer more comprehensive looks at the water resources of various parishes. Note that currency varies.
Acadia
Allen
Ascension
Assumption
Avoyelles
Beauregard
Bienville
Bossier
Caddo
Calcasieu
Caldwell
Cameron
Catahoula
Claiborne
Concordia
De Soto
East Baton Rouge
East Carroll
East Feliciana
Evangeline
Franklin
Iberia
Iberville
Jackson
Jefferson
Jefferson Davis
Lafayette
Lafourche
La Salle
Livingston
Lincoln
Madison
Morehouse
Natchitoches
Orleans
Ouachita
Pointe Coupee
Plaquemines
Rapides
Red River
Richland
Sabine
St. Bernard
St. Charles
St. Helena
St. James
St. John the Baptist
St. Landry
St. Martin
St. Mary
St. Tammany
Tangipahoa
Tensas
Terrebonne
Union
Vermilion
Vernon
Washington
Webster
West Baton Rouge
West Carroll
West Feliciana
Winn