Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education by
The Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education, Second Edition is a comprehensive resource for those working in the fields of special education research and practice. Featuring reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, dozens of biographies, and more, this complete desk reference is an indispensable guide for professionals, academics, and students alike. Named an American Library Association Top 25 Reference of the Year in its First Edition, The Concise Encyclopedia serves as an important reference for the education of handicapped and other exceptional children. Written and edited by highly regarded and respected experts in the fields of special education and psychology, this authoritative resource guide provides a reference base for educators as well as professionals in the areas of psychology, neuropsychology, medicine, health care, social work and law. Additionally, this acclaimed reference work is essential for administrators, psychologists, diagnosticians, and school counselors, as well as parents of the handicapped themselves. What's new in this edition Comprehensive coverage of new legislation such as Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act Cultural competence in Special Education, including new material on culturally/linguistically diverse students Many new entries including notable biographies, new service delivery systems, special education laws, new assessment instruments, cross-cultural issues, neuropsychology, and use of the Internet in research and service delivery. Some of the topics covered Academic assessment Achievement tests Addictions Bilingual education Child and adolescent behavior management Counseling with individuals and families with disabilities Early childhood education Gifted education Intelligence tests Mathematics disabilities Psychoeducational methods Rehabilitation Socioeconomic status Special education parent and student rights Traumatic brain injury
Education and Sociology by
First Published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of American Education by
The only comprehensive reference to the development and present state of American education, ""Encyclopedia of American Education, Third Edition"" includes more than 2,000 entries spanning the colonial period to the present. This authoritative three-volume reference provides a wealth of information on virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education. Author Harlow G. Unger, one of the country's foremost education experts, has substantially updated existing entries and added more than 40 new entries. Appendixes include significant federal legislation, important U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and lists of undergraduate majors and graduate school programs. More than 10 new photographs have been added to this edition, and more than half a dozen experts in education served as editorial consultants for this encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Education
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Historical Dictionary of American Education by
The history of American education is a vital and productive field of study. This reference book provides factual information about eminent people and important topics related to the development of American public, private, and parochial schools, covering elementary and secondary levels. In addition to major state and regional leaders and reformers, it includes biographies of significant national educators, philosophers, psychologists, and writers. Subjects embrace important ideas, events, institutions, agencies, and pedagogical trends that profoundly shaped American policies and perceptions regarding education. The more than 350 entries are arranged alphabetically and written by expert contributors. Each entry closes with a brief bibliography, and the volume ends with a list of works for further reading. Entries were drawn from a review of leading history of education textbooks and the History of Education Quarterly. These topics were further refined by comments from leading authorities and the contributors. Most of the contributors are established scholars in the history of education, curriculum and instruction, school law, educational administration, and American history; a few also work as public and private school teachers and thus bring their practical experience to their entries. The period covered begins in the colonial period and continues through the 1990s.
Standards and Schooling in the United States by
In this definitive, three-volume set, top scholars illuminate the historical, social, cultural, political, administrative, psychological, and philosophical issues behind the standards debate. * Volumes are arranged topically and include subjects such as art, bilingual education, consequences of standards, evaluation, learning theory and cognition, multiculturalism, reductionism, and school accreditation * Over 50 top scholars illuminate the debate, provide much-needed historical context, and explain the relationship of standards to educational reform efforts * A historical chronology is given, which spans from 1892, when the Committee of Ten created uniform academic requirements for admission to college, to the Supreme Court ruling in 2001 lowering the First Amendment wall separating church and state * The encyclopedia gives a list of selected print and nonprint resources, which includes books, government publications, labor reports, websites, and organizations regarding the standards debate in the United States
Encyclopedia of law and higher education by 
Encyclopedia of Education Law by
CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009"A welcome addition to any public or academic library, this set would also be of use in a law library where educational law might need to be explored and reviewed at a more basic level than other legal texts."-Sara Rofofsky Marcus, Queensborough Community Coll., Bayside, NY"Smaller educational legal summaries exist, and a couple of texts deal with Supreme Court cases about education, but this set provides a unique combination of general educational legal issues and case-specific information. It should be a welcome addition to academic and large public libraries. Also available as an ebook."- BooklistThe Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following:Key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviewsConstitutional issuesKey concepts, theories, and legal principlesKey statutesTreaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights)Curricular issuesEducational equityGovernanceRights of students and teachersTechnologyBiographiesOrganizationsIn addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter. Such a broadened perspective places education law in its proper context in the U.S. legal system.
Philosophy of Education by
First Published in 1996. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
--4th Floor Stacks-- LC 1099.3 .H35 2004
Multicultural and Diversity Education: A Reference Handbook
--4th Floor Stacks-- LC 1099.3 .A66 2002
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Education
--4th floor stacks-- LB14.7 .O93 2009
Understanding Educational Reform: A Reference Handbook
--4th Floor Stacks-- LA 209.2 .H58 2002
