Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Religion

LibGuide to Religion resources at Sims Memorial Library.

Websites

Concise Dictionary of Religion (Irving Hexham) -- Contains more than four thousand definitions of concepts and identifications of names, groups, places and important dates in the history of religious movements.

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society -- Extensive online encyclopedia of religion at Hartford Seminary

Virtual Religion Index at Rutgers University -- This is an extensive listing of organized websites related to many aspects of religion. Maintained by the Rutgers Religion Department.

American Academy of Religion -- Within a context of free inquiry and critical examination, the Academy welcomes all disciplined reflection on religion–both from within and outside of communities of belief and practice–and seeks to enhance its broad public understanding.

Internet Guide to Religion -- The Guide is a selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion.  It is an initiative of the Wabash Center for teaching and learning in theology and religion which is funded by the Lilly Endowment Inc.

The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life -- The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, launched in 2001, seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The website includes reports, surveys, datasets and other materials. 

 The Association of Religion Data Archives --(ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.