Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

African American History

LibGuide to African American History resources at Sims Memorial Library.

Bibliographies & Biographies

Bibliographies

Black American Writers, 1773-1949: a Bibliography and Union List
--Reference Stacks-- E 185.8 .M38
The Kaiser Index to Black Resources, 1948-1986
--Reference Stacks-- E 185 .K34 (5 vol)

Biographies

African American Women : a Biographical Dictionary --Reference-- E 185.96 .A45
Black Biography, 1790-1950 : a Cumulative Index --Reference-- E 185.96 .B52 (3 vol)
Black Congressmen during Reconstruction : a Documentary Sourcebook --Reference-- E 185.6 .B623
Contemporary Black Biography --Reference-- E 185.96 .C66 (33 vol) --online-- Full text available: 1992-Present Available in Biography Resource Center
Dictionary of American Negro Biography --Reference-- E 185.96 .D53
Facts on File Encyclopedia of Black Women in America
--Reference Stacks-- E 185.96 .F2 (11 vol)
Notable Black American Men ---online-- Full Text Available: 1998-1998 Available in Biography Resource Center
Notable Black American Women --Reference-- E185.96 N68 and E 185.96 .N683 --online-- Full Text Available: 1992-2002 Available in Biography Resource Center
Pan-African History: Political figures and the Diaspora since 1787
-- Reference stacks-- DT30 .A35 2003 --online-- netLibrary e-book
Who's Who Among African Americans --Reference-- E 185.96 .W53 (10th ed) --online (current edition only)-- Full Text Available: 2006 – 2006 Available in Biography Resource Center
.

Creating Freedom: Material Culture and African American Identity at Oakley Plantation, Louisiana -- 4th Floor Stacks -- F 377 .W5 W55 2000

Subject Guide

Ben Bell's picture
Ben Bell
Contact:
Reference Librarian &
Instructor
Sims Memorial Library Room 344
(985) 549-3821