Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

African American History

LibGuide to African American History resources at Sims Memorial Library.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

The African American Encyclopedia
--Reference Stacks-- E 185 .A253 (8 vol)
Africana: The Encyclopedia of African & African American Experience ,2nd ed
-- Reference stacks-- DT14 .A37435 2005 (5 vol)
Afro-American Encyclopedia
--Reference Stacks-- E 185 .A28 (10 vol)
Black History Month Resource Book
--Reference Stacks-- E 184.7 .B53
Black Women in America, 2nd ed
-- Reference stacks-- E 185.86 B542 2005 (3 vol)
Contributions of Black Women to America
--Reference Stacks-- E 185.86 .C585 (2 vol)
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
--Reference Stacks-- E 185 .E54 (5 vol)
Encyclopedia of Black Studies
-- Reference stacks-- E 185 .E554 2005
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
--Reference Stacks-- E 185.61 .E544 (3 vol)
W.E.B. Du Bois : an Encyclopedia
--Reference Stacks-- E 185.97 .D73 W164
Organizing Black America : an Encyclopedia of African American Associations
--Reference Stacks-- E 185.5 .O74 -- online-- netLibrary e-book

Dictionaries

Juba to Jive : a Dictionary of African-American Slang
--Reference Stacks-- PE 3727 .N4 M34
 Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery
--Reference Stacks-- E 441 .D53 1988

Subject Guide

Ben Bell's picture
Ben Bell
Contact:
Reference Librarian &
Instructor
Sims Memorial Library Room 344
(985) 549-3821