In discussing a management topic, scholars, educators, practitioners, and the media often toss out the name of a theorist (Taylor, Simon, Weber) or make a sideways reference to a particular theory (Bureaucracy, Total Quality Management, Groupthink, etc.) and move on, as if assuming their audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. This is often far from the case. Individuals are frequently forced to seek out a hodgepodge of sources varying in quality and presentation to provide an overview of a particular idea. And reference librarians often find it difficult to guide readers to an informed, one-stop resource with just the basics--the "who, what, where, how, when, and why." In response, SAGE Reference plans to publish the two-volume Encyclopedia of Management Theory, available in both print and electronic formats. This work is designed to serve as a core reference for anyone interested in the essentials of contemporary management theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses to thoughtfully apply them. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Features and Benefits: · Two volumes containing 335-350 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resources available on management theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. · To ease navigation between and among related entries, a Reader′s Guide groups entries thematically and each entry is followed by Cross-References. · In the electronic version, the Reader′s Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to provide robust search-and-browse capabilities. · An appendix with a Chronology of Management Theory allows students to easily chart directions and trends in thought and theory from early times to the present. · Suggestions for Further Reading at the end of each entry guide readers to sources for more detailed research and discussion.
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management
by Malcom Warner (Editor)
Call Number: HF 1001 .I53 1996 v.1-v.6
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
This text meets the growing need for an international work of reference in the field of business and management. Providing users with an analysis of the history, theory, practice and future developments of business and management topics worldwide, this work gives an interdisciplinary key to both understanding and practice. It provides introductions to business and management topics, offering international perspectives. The broad and diverse range of information offered is presented in a clear, structured format.
The field of production and operations management has grown rapidly and consequently its boundaries have been stretched in all directions. This encyclopedia aims to serve as a fundamental reference work.
Thoroughly revised, updated, and expanded, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society, Second Edition explores current topics, such as mass social media, cookies, and cyber-attacks, as well as traditional issues including accounting, discrimination, environmental concerns, and management. The new edition also includes an in-depth examination of current and recent ethical affairs, such as the dangerous work environments of off-shore factories for Western retailers, the negligence resulting in the 2010 BP oil spill, the gender wage gap, the minimum wage debate and increasing income disparity and the unparalleled level of debt in the U.S. and other countries with the challenges it presents to many societies and the considerable impact on the ethics of intergenerational wealth transfers. Key Features Include: Seven volumes, available in both electronic and print formats, contain more than 1,200 signed entries by significant figures in the field Cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students to in-depth resources Thematic Reader's Guide groups related entries by general topics Index allows for thorough browse-and-search capabilities in the electronic edition
Health care is one of today's most discussed and debated topics. From issues such as accessibility to costs to quality, the debates range widely among doctors, patients, employers, and insurers. A popular topic in political campaigns and the media, health care and health care management is also a quiet and unremitting concern in the private and personal lives of individuals who worry about someday having to choose between food and prescription drugs. The Encyclopedia of Health Care Management will prove invaluable to libraries serving students and professionals in health and business. It will also be an essential reference for health providers and their employees, and students and professors in health and management for responsible and successful practice and administration in the health care industry.
The "Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management" provides clear, concise, up to the minute and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts covering the whole of the fast changing field of international management.
Dictionaries: Learn the essential definitions of terms and concepts in your chosen discipline and field.
Rather than mark the end of conflict, the end of World War II began a half century of ideological, political, military, economic struggles, and many with century-old antecedents. This work brings together in encyclopedic format most of the major events of the last half century that can be classified as conflict. While war is the ultimate conflict, the volume includes assassinations, coups, insurgency, terrorism, massacres, and genocide. It provides detailed information on the people, places and events that have produced conflict and its resolution since 1945. Many entries trace the antecedents of events back through history to illustrate continuity and change. The troubled Middle East and Africa, for instance, are seen today as the result of tensions that have developed over decades, of colonialism, exploitation, and ethno-religious antagonism. The reader will be able to understand the backgrounds of the individual players and gain a better understanding of why conflicts occur and how they can be resolved.
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics
by Patricia Werhane (Editor); R. Edward Freeman
Call Number: HF 5387 .B55 1997
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series is comprised of 11 stand-alone volumes, each covering a major subject area in the field. All of the volumes provide informative definitions and explanation of the key concepts in their area. For students, researchers, academics and practitioners they should act as a reference, bringing together specially-commissioned and edited entries from an international team of scholars and teachers.