Economics is the nexus and engine that runs society, affecting societal well-being, raising standards of living when economies prosper or lowering citizens through class structures when economies perform poorly. Our society only has to witness the booms and busts of the past decade to see how economics profoundly affects the cores of societies around the world. From a household budget to international trade, economics ranges from the micro- to the macro-level. It relates to a breadth of social science disciplines that help describe the content of the proposed encyclopedia, which will explicitly approach economics through varied disciplinary lenses. Although there are encyclopedias of covering economics (especially classic economic theory and history), the SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. Features: #65533; 4 volumes with approximately 800 signed articles ranging from 1,000 to 5,000 words each are presented in a choice of print or electronic editions #65533; Organized A-to-Z with a thematic Reader′s Guide in the front matter groups related entries #65533; Articles conclude with References & Future Readings to guide students to the next step on their research journeys #65533; Cross-references between and among articles combine with a thorough Index and the Reader′s Guide to enhance search-and-browse in the electronic version #65533; Pedagogical elements include a Chronology of Economics and Society, Resource Guide, and Glossary This academic, multi-author reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers within social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens.
A compelling compilation of short entries, longer topical essays, and primary source documents that chronicles the historical development of the United States from an economic perspective. * Over 600 A-Z entries on key ideas, initiatives, people, and events in the history of U.S. economic policy * 31 in-depth essays on core economic issues and trends * A separate primary source section that includes 32 important treaties, key political speeches, and more relating to the American economy from the Articles of Confederation period through the Obama Administration * Easy-to-use tables of economic data designed for quick reference * Extensive cross-referencing * A bibliography of significant materials relating to all aspects of the American economy
The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
by David R. Henderson
Call Number: HB61 .C647 2008 Reference
Publication Date: 2010-05-31
In this easily accessible, user-friendly volume, respected economist David R. Henderson brings together 152 of the most brilliant minds in economics to show how the analysis of economic topics can illuminate many aspects of the average person’s daily life. Some of the noted contributors include Nobel Prize winners Gary Becker and George Stigler, and former presidential economic advisors, financial columnists, and economists such as Armen Alchian, Don Boudreaux, Deepak Lal, Anna Schwartz, Lawrence Summers, and Murray Rothbard. The entries cover numerous topics including basic concepts, discrimination and labor issues, corporations and financial markets, issues in economic history, economics of legal issues, regulation, environmental regulation, taxes, economic policy, macroeconomics, money and banking, international economics, economics outside the United States, economic systems, schools of economic thought, and more. Containing more than 160 entries, The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics provides the reader with a wealth of economic analysis about important issues in a comprehensive, yet readable and engaging format. Originally published in 1993 as The Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics and now thoroughly revised and updated, the Liberty Fund edition contains numerous new entries, updates of previously published articles, and a new introduction and index. David R. Henderson is a Research Fellow with Stanford University’s Hoover Institution and an Associate Professor of Economics at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, California. He was formerly a Senior Economist with the President’s Council of Economic Advisers. EDITORIAL BOARD Tyler Cowen, Professor of Economics at George Mason University and Director of the James Buchanan Center and Mercatus Center Robert W. Crandall, Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution Kevin D. Hoover, Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Duke University Russell Roberts, Professor of Economics and the J. Fish and Lillian F. Smith Distinguished Scholar at the Mercatus Center at George Mason University
An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics
by Brian Snowdon (Editor); Howard R. Vane (Editor)
Call Number: HB172.5 .E55 2002 Reference
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
The Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics is an authoritative and invaluable reference source on macroeconomics, which embraces definitions of terms and concepts, conflicting ideological approaches and the contributions of major thinkers. Comprehensive in scope, it contains over 300 short entries and more than 100 specially commissioned main entries from an internationally renowned group of scholars.The alphabetically ordered entries will be useful both as a basic reference source and a provocative stimulus for further reading. The Encyclopedia will soon be established as a leading reference source on macroeconomics that will both enlighten students and be highly valued by scholars and teachers of economics.
An Eponymous Dictionary of Economics is a fascinating and accessible reference work with comprehensive coverage of the field of economics from Adam SmithÕs Problem through MinkowskiÕs Theorem to ZellnerÕs Estimator.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
by Steven N. Durlauf; Lawrence E. Blume
The award-winning The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition is now available as a dynamic online resource. Consisting of over 1,900 articles written by leading figures in the field including Nobel prize winners, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists. Regularly updated! This product is a subscription based product.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
by Joel Mokyr (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE-- HC15 .O94 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-16
What were the economic roots of modern industrialism? Were unions ever effective in raising workers' living standards? Did high levels of taxation in the past normally lead to economic decline? These and similar questions profoundly inform a wide range of intertwined social issues whose complexity, scope, and depth become fully evident in the acclaimed Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History. This important reference work contains 900 signed articles byleading international scholars drawn from the USA, Latin America, Europe, and Asia. Essays on countries and regions sit alongside those on abstract concepts, institutions, phenomena, and historical processes, and biographies and assessments of important names from both technology and business, includingeconomic historians of note. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, it is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but also by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the histories of technology, migration, and transportation. Covering economic history in all areas of the world and segments of economies from prehistoric times to the present, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History is the idealresource for students, economists and general readers, offering a unique glimpse into this integral part of world history.
This three volume Encyclopedia offers the first comprehensive and authoritative survey of the rapidly developing field of international political economy. Its entries cover the major theoretical issues and analytical approaches within the field. The set also provides detailed discussion of the contributions of key individuals and surveys a wide range of empirical conditions and developments within the global political economy, including its major institutions. The Encyclopedia has been designed to be eclectic in approach and wide-ranging in coverage. Theoretical entries range from discussions of the definition and scope of the field, through core methodological questions such as rationalism and the structure-agent problem, to surveys of the major theories and approaches employed in the study of the international political economy.
A Dictionary of Economics
by John Black (Editor); Nigar Hashimzade (Editor); Gareth Myles (Editor)
Call Number: HB61 .B554 2012 Reference
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
An authoritative and comprehensive dictionary containing clear, concise definitions of over 3,400 key economic terms, this A to Z covers all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance,monetary economics, and environmental economics. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. Fully revised to keep up-to-date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include termsrelevant to the financial crisis, such as black swan, credit crunch, Northern Rock, and Iceland, making this dictionary the most up-to-date available.Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a listof Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites.As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.