Interpretation and Application of IPSAS
by Caroline Aggestam-Pontoppidan; Isabelle Andernack
Publication Date: 2015-11-30
Clear, practical IPSAS guidance, explanation, and examples Interpretation and Application of IPSAS provides practical guidance on the implementation and application of the International Public Sector Accounting Standards. This book brings readers up to date on the standards, and describes their proper interpretation and real-world application. Examples and mini-case studies clarify the standards' roles throughout, giving readers a better understanding of complex processes, especially where the IPSAS deviate from IFRS. Readers also gain insight into smoothly navigating the transition for a public sector entity, which is moving to either IPSAS under accrual basis of accounting or to cash accounting IPSAS, plus an overview of IPSAS adoption status and methods around the world. Global public sector accounting is highly diversified, resulting in ongoing moves to harmonise standards worldwide. The IPSAS are international standards that largely follow the IFRS model, but differ in some key areas and include standards in places where IFRS has none. This book provides complete guidance to IPSAS, with clear explanation and expert insight. Understand the meaning and role of each standard Apply the standards to real-world scenarios Manage the process of transition to IPSAS These standards are meant to be followed by all public sector entities, including national and regional governments and local authorities. They've been adopted by the UN, NATO, the European Commission, and others, and either have been or soon will be adopted in Malaysia, Switzerland, Spain, and more.
Advances in Management Accounting
by Marc J. Epstein (Editor); Mary A. Malina (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-04-11
Advances in Management Accounting publishes thoughtful, well-developed articles across a broad spectrum of current topics in the field of management accounting, using a variety of research methods including survey research, field tests, corporate case studies and modeling. Volume 26 exemplifies the broad scope of Advances in Management Accounting, examining a number of areas within management accounting.
Wiley GAAP 2016 - Interpretation and Application of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles
by Joanne M. Flood
Publication Date: 2015-11-23
The complete, cross-referenced GAAP guide, with illustrations, explanations, and examples Wiley GAAP 2016 contains the most comprehensive coverage of all GAAP pronouncements in a single volume, providing professionals with a complete reference to the entire GAAP hierarchy. This new edition includes the latest updates to the standards, along with AICPA ASEC statements of position and a comprehensive cross-reference of accounting topics to the new FASB codification system. All pronouncements are fully explained in detail, including terminology, and practice exercises demonstrate real-world application. Each chapter includes a discussion of perspectives and issues, sources of GAAP, definitions, concepts, rules, and examples, with specific appendices where applicable. This useful guide contains numerous examples and illustrations, and all original pronouncements are referenced to the FASB Current Text. GAAP is constantly being updated, and users require expert interpretation and explanation of relevant principles with every new pronouncement. This book provides clear, comprehensive guidance, including FASB Technical Bulletins, AcSEC Practice Bulletins, FASB Implementation Guides, and AICPA Statements of Position and Accounting Interpretations. Readers will: Refer to GAAP standards and ASEC statements Understand relevant terminology, concepts, and rules Study detailed examples to gain a solid working knowledge of the standards Gain confidence by practicing GAAP applications before using it in the field This guide represents the most complete, comprehensive GAAP reference available, and the digital format allows for instant access to information through the point-and-click Index and Table of Contents. A thorough study and analysis of all US Generally Accepted Accounting Principles, Wiley GAAP 2016 is the essential reference.
Accounting, Capitalism and the Revealed Religions
by Vassili Joannides De Lautour
Call Number: HF5605 .J4 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-14
This book analyses the bearing of global monotheistic faiths towards the philosophy and practice of record keeping and accounting throughout history. The author offers a comprehensive discussion of the literal and figurative processes of taking account and ascribing accountability that link religions such as Christianity, Judaism and Islam. Chapters address theology and accounting in tandem with social behaviours to demonstrate how auditing and calculating customs permeate practising religions. This book first highlights how the four monotheisms have viewed and incorporated accounting historically, and then looks forward to the accounting debates, technologies and traditions in today's world that derive from these religious customs. Drawing heavily on the writings of Max Weber and Werner Sombart, the author demonstrates that accounting and capitalism have religious roots far beyond the Protestant ethic.
Governance and Risk Management in Taxation
by Arnaldo Marques De Oliveira Neto
Call Number: HF5681 .T3 O45 2017
Publication Date: 2016-10-26
This book provides insights into identifying and dealing with possible corporate tax risks. It also elaborates on how enterprises can avoid possible issuance of notices of violation, fines and default interest, and ensure reduced tax responsibility of enterprises and their administrators when dealing with tax issues, thereby bringing about increased efficiency and productivity. Conducted in collaboration with the Brazilian Enterprises Group of Advertising and Publicity Services, it also includes managerial information resources and procedures for tax risks that enterprises may encounter. Additionally, it presents findings that allow the academic community and enterprises (not only advertising and publicity services) alike to benefit from the results derived from the Model of Corporate Risk Management (GRCorp) and the Specific Model of Tax Risk Management (GRTrib) frameworks developed by the author. The book serves as a valuable resource for academic researchers and practitioners in businesses.