LibGuides: Genealogy: Indexes & Databases available elsewhere

Indexes & Databases available elsewhere

The following genealogy databases are not available through a Sims Library subscription or license, but are available as indicated.

Ancestry Library Edition-- Available through a State Library of Louisiana license. Patrons need to visit their local Louisiana Parish library to use Ancestry Library Edition. Additionally, personal subscriptions allowing remote access to Ancestry databases are available: U.S. Discovery or World Explorer. Free searches and access to some materials are available at the website, Ancestry.com.

FamilySearch.org - Record Search - Available to anyone who creates a free account. FamilySearch is a nonprofit family history organization, claiming the largest collection of genealogical and historical records in the world. It is provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter-Day Saints.

Find My Past -- Personal subscriptions provide access to British and Irish genealogical records and information.

GenealogyBank.com -- Personal subscriptions provide access to digitized newspaper obituaries and articles, including the Baton Rouge Advocate, the Baton Rouge Daily Advocate, New Orleans' Times Picayune, The States and The Item, and many other Louisiana newspapers.

Genealogy.com -- Personal subscriptions allow remote access to many collections: U. S. Census, Family & Local Histories, International & Passenger Records, Genealogy Library and World Family Tree. Some free searches are available from this website as well.

HeritageQuest Online -- Available through a State Library of Louisiana license. Patrons need to log into this database through the website of their local Louisiana Parish library. It includes the U. S. Federal Census, Genealogy & Local History Books and PERSI (Periodical Source Index).

My Heritage -- Personal subscriptions provide access to US, UK, Ireland, Nordi, and worldwide genealogical records and information.

Newspapers.com -- is an Ancestry.com database of historical newspapers, 1700s - 2000s, with two levels of subscriptions.

Civil War Soldiers & Sailors System
A free searchable database of Union & Confederate soldiers & sailors, as well as regimental and battle histories, created by Natl Park Service, Genl Society of Utah, the Federation of Genl Societies, African American Civil War Meml, Civil War Preservation Trust, Howard University, Natl Archives, United Daughters of the Confederacy, US Civil War Center, Allen Co. Public Library, and Utah Army Corps.
Ellis Island Searchable Database
Website provided by JewishGen, Inc. with assistance from Dr. Stephen Morse; searches the Ellis Island Passenger Record Archive, providing information on passengers & immigrants who entered the Port of New York from 1892 - 1924. The search & retrieval is free; a fee is charged for photocopies of the manifests.
Internet Archive Text Archive
A collection of books from around the world made available by the Internet Archive, the Open Library and other libraries. Many local and family history books are included in the collection.
The DAR Genealogical Research System
This database provides information collected by the Daughters of the American Revolution since its inception in 1890.
The National Digital Newspaper Program: Chronicling America
Chronicling America provides access to America's historic newspapers. Newspaper pages from selected states for the time period 1880-1922 may be viewed online. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).