Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

Archaeology

LibGuide to Archaeology resources at Sims Memorial Library.

Archaeology

 

This Research Guide is designed for all Archaeology students. It includes many books (and ebooks) and websites to assist with scholarly research or professional development. You may also contact a Reference Librarian with any questions you might have.

This guide presents selected resources for Archaeology which are available through the Southeastern Louisiana University Sims Library Catalog and Databases as well as open access websites.

Please add suggestions for other websites and resources here.

 

Photo: Wallpaper Facets, Threepullpa.com. "Indiana Jones Movie." THreePullpa. THreePullpa, n.d. Web. 04 May 2017.

Handbooks & Statistics

Handbooks

The Amateur Archaeologist's Handbook
--Reference Stacks-- CC 75.5 .R62 1981
Archaeology: A Reference Stacks Handbook
--Reference Stacks-- CC 70 .D39
The Archaeology of Regional Interaction
--
online-- netLibrary e-book
Remote Sensing: A Handbook for Archeologists and Cultural Resource Managers
--Reference Stacks-- CC 76.4 .L96

Statistical Sources

Bayesian Approach to Interpreting Archaeological Data
--online-- netLibrary e-book

Top Resources

The Amateur Archaeologist's Handbook
--Reference Stacks-- CC 75.5 .R62 1981

Archaeology of Louisiana --   4th Floor Stacks  -- F371 .A73 2010 -- Also an electronic resource.

Creating Freedom: Material Culture and African American Identity at Oakley Plantation, Louisiana -- 4th Floor Stacks -- F 377 .W5 W55 2000

An Introduction to Louisiana Archaeology -- 4th Floor Stacks -- E 78 .L8 .N483 1990

Preserving Louisiana's Legacy : Everyone Can Help -- 4th Floor Stacks -- F 370 .H5 1982

 

The Archaeological Institute of America -- (AIA) promotes a vivid and informed public interest in the cultures and civilizations of the past, supports archaeological research, fosters the sound professional practice of archaeology, advocates the preservation of the world’s archaeological heritage, and represents the discipline in the wider world. 

A nonprofit organization, the AIA also seeks to educate people of all ages about the significance of archaeological discovery and is committed to preserving the world’s archaeological resources and cultural heritage.


Louisiana Office of Cultural Development/Division of Archaeology -- The Louisiana Division of Archaeology has state and federal roles relating to recording, protecting, and distributing information about the state's archaeological sites.

Dating Exhibit -- Sponsored by Minnesota State University, this web site covers and discusses a variety of archaeological dating techniques.

Archaeological News from Archaeology Magazine -- This site is updated on weekdays by 1:00 PM EST.

The Archaeology Channel -- Explore the human cultural heritage through streaming media. Travel through time and feel the thrill of discovery. Examine the wonderful diversity of the human experience!  The mission of Archaeological Legacy Institute (ALI) is to develop ways to make archaeology more effective both in gathering important information about past human lifeways and in delivering that information to the public and the profession.

 The National Archeological Database -- The National Archeologal Database, is a program of the National Park Service. The Reports module, is an expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation.

The Museum of Underwater Archaeology -- The online Museum of Underwater Archaeology was created to help underwater archaeologists and maritime historians present their research to the public via the Internet.

The Archaeology Data Service -- The Archaeology Data Service supports research, learning and teaching with high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology.

Your Librarian

Ben Bell's picture
Ben Bell
Contact:
(985) 549-3821

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian

Style Manuals

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
--Ready Reference-- LB 2369 .G53 2009

The Chicago manual of style
--Ready Reference and 4th floor stacks-- Z 253 .C57
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian)
--Ready Reference and 4th floor stacks-- LB 2369 .T8
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
--Ready Reference-- BF 76.7 .P83
APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 2007
--Ready Reference-- PN171. F56 .A63 2007; also available
online