Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

African American History

LibGuide to African American History resources at Sims Memorial Library.

African American History

This Research Guide is designed for all students of African American History. It includes many books (and ebooks) and websites to assist with scholarly research or professional development. You may also contact a Reference Librarian with any questions you might have.

This guide presents selected resources for African American History which are available through the Southeastern Louisiana University Sims Library Catalog and Databases as well as open access websites.

Please add suggestions for other websites and resources here.

 

Please add suggestions for other websites and resources here.

Top Ten Resources for African-American History


African American Heritage --
Site maps and cultural themes, from the National Park Service.

African American Odyssey --
A special presentation of the Library of Congress, showcasing their collection.

Amistad Research Center --
Homepage for "an independent manuscripts library dedicated to preserving African American and ethnic history and culture."

Schomburg Center --
Official website of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. 

The Root -- The Root is a daily online magazine that provides thought-provoking commentary on today's news from a variety of black perspectives.

The African American Encyclopedia
--Reference Stacks-- E 185 .A253 (8 vol)
 

Africana: The Encyclopedia of African & African American Experience ,2nd ed
-- Reference stacks-- DT14 .A37435 2005 (5 vol)

Black Women in America, 2nd ed
-- Reference stacks-- E 185.86 B542 2005 (3 vol)

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
--Reference Stacks-- E 185 .E54 (5 vol)

Encyclopedia of Black Studies
-- Reference stacks-- E 185 .E554 2005

Your Librarian

Ben Bell's picture
Ben Bell
Contact:
(985) 549-3821

Statistics

Statistical Sources

Black Americans: a Statistical Sourcebook
--Reference Stacks-- E 185.5 .B512 2001
Statistical Record of Black America
--Reference Stacks-- E 185.5 .S83

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian

Style Manuals

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
--Ready Reference-- LB 2369 .G53 2009

The Writing Center

Southeastern Writing Center
210 D. Vickers Hall
(985) 549-2076
writing@selu.edu