Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

COMM 391: Introduction to Communication Theory & Research

This LibGuide includes resources to support students in Professor Mirando’s Introduction to Communication Theory & Research course.

Welcome to Sims Library!

COMM 391 students, this LibGuide is for you. If you have any questions about the Sims Library, please call (985-549-3485), email (adunnington@selu.edu) or stop by my office. Find my contact information on the right.

Use the online form to schedule an appointment for a one-on-one research consultation.

Research Databases

Communication Abstracts -- Indexes and abstracts international journal articles, reports, and books in the fields of general communication, mass communication, small group communication, organizational communication, journalism, public relations, radio, public opinion, speech, and television.

Communication and Mass Media
 -- Indexes, abstracts and provides acesss to selected full-text articles from the Mass Media Articles Index(MMAI) produced by Penn State University and CommSearch, produced by the National Communication Association (NCA).


LEXIS®-NEXIS® Academic-- Provides full-text of: U.S. and international newspapers; business, industry and market news; accounting literature; company financial reports and profiles; legal news and reviews; state and federal case law; state, U.S., Canadian, Commonwealth and E.U. codes and regulations; patents; medical news and journals; state and country profiles; biographies and quotations; polls and surveys and a world almanac.

ProQuest Research Library-- Indexes, abstracts and provides selected full-text of popular and scholarly periodicals from many disciplines. 

Background Sources on Research Methods

Peer Review in Five Minutes

Course Text

Literature Reviews

Here are some useful sites on how to write a Literature Review. 

Research Articles

Example of a research article from the Communication and Mass Media Complete database. 

The Cultivation, Mainstreaming, and Cognitive Processing of Environmentalists Watching Television