Skip to main content

Libguide, SELU Sims memorial library

Ask a Librarian
Hours

COMM 215: Introduction to Interpersonal Communication

Welcome to Sims Library!

COMM 215 students, this LibGuide is for you. If you have any questions about the Sims Library, please call (985-549-3485), email (adunnington@selu.edu) or stop by my office. Find my contact information on the right.

Use the online form to schedule an appointment for a one-on-one research consultation.

Searching the Library Catalog

Click on the "Books & More" tab to access the Library Catalog

  1. Type a keyword or phrase in the search box.
  2. Click the Search button.

Research Databases

Communication Abstracts -- A comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale, COMMUNICATION ABSTRACTS covers major communication-related articles, reports, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources-providing coverage of recent literature in the areas of general communication, mass communication, small group communication, organizational communication, journalism, public relations, radio, public opinion, speech, and television. 

Communication & Mass Media Complete
 -- Communication and Mass Media Complete will index more than 385 journals with full text access to articles in 160 journals. 

PsycINFO -- Contains citations and abstracts of scholarly journal articles (from more than 1,700 journals), chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and related social science disciplines. Coverage is international. Provides links to some full-text articles. 

PsycINFO Methodology Field Values 

ProQuest Research Library-- Indexes, abstracts and provides selected full-text of popular and scholarly periodicals from many disciplines. 

 

Peer Review in Five Minutes

Literature Reviews

Here are some useful sites on how to write a Literature Review. 

Examples of Empirical-Based Research Journals

Journal of Communication
Human Communication Research 
Critical Studies in Media Communication 
Communication, Culture & Critique 

Interlibrary Loan

What is Interlibrary Loan (ILL)? 
Interlibrary Loan is a service by which Sims Library obtains research materials not available in the Sims Library.  Current students, faculty and staff are eligible to use ILL. 

In order to request materials through interlibrary loan, all users must first register through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system. After registering, users can request interlibrary loan materials through ILLiad, check the status of their requests, and view a history of requests submitted through ILLiad. 

CHECK OUT THE INTERLIBRARY LOAN LIBGUIDE

Subject Guide